Gerontology: Home

Gerontology

Best Bets

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Premier resource for psychology and all interdisciplinary related fields. Ability to limit by methodology (e.g. empirical, qualitative, or quantitative studies).
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides over 30 million citations on all aspects of medicine and allied health sciences. Also includes data
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
MEDLINE, accessed via Web of Science, is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics vital to biomedical practitioners, educators, and researchers, such as bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, marine biology, and preclinical sciences. You’ll find references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Premier resource for research in the field of Sociology.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.

Valuable Resources

Public Policy and Aging Report
Explores current policies and issues -- designed to stimulate debate. Topics include: end-of-life care, technology, elder abuse / neglect and more.
Subscription includes access from v. 9 no. 3 (fall 1998) through current.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
This directory provides comprehensive publisher information including if a serial is peer-reviewed, open access and more. Useful for evaluation of open access journals and when making publishing decisions.

World Life Expectancy
Provides country data on life expectancy and more.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and masters theses from OhioLINK institutions. Dissertations and theses are added to the database as they are approved by the departments accepting them. To find dissertations you can browse by author's last name and by institution/department, or search by author, title, subject, or keyword.

Websites

US Census Data
Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
WHO Global Health Data
Country data, fact sheets and more.
WHO Global Index Medicus
Provides medical and health literature created by low and middle income countries. Previously called Global Health Library.
World Life Expectancy
Provides country data on life expectancy and more.
Social Psychology Network
Social Psychology website dedicated to research and teaching for the promotion of social justice and sustainable living.
more...less...
Maintained by Scott Plous, Wesleyan University