GLG 244: Oceanography (Gerke) 2024: Finding Articles
GeoRef
- GeoRef (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Geosciences Institute, this comprehensive geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world. It contains a vast amount of indexed information covering a wide spectrum of geoscience literature. Other records featured within the database include indexed books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations.
Articles & More - a great place to start!
- Start searching for articles here (searches 80+ databases at once).
- Use limiters - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA citation.
- "Research Starter" provides a topic overview.
- To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record. (not the browser URL)
Watch: Articles & More (Long, 2:27 min., 2015)
Need a Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Article? Who writes them? Why? Where do you find one?
- Peer Review in 3 Minutes (NCSU Libraries)
- Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)
Web of Science
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarAcademic research articles and books, found through Google. Some will be freely accessible, and some will require a subscription.