- Miami University Libraries
- Subject & Course Guides
- GER 231 (Pearman)
- Folklore & Mythology Resources
chat loading...
GER 231 (Pearman): Folklore & Mythology Resources
Online Reference Books
Below is a list of encyclopedias and eBooks that you may find useful as you complete this course and its assignments. Some tips for using these eResources:
1. When you click on the link, it will take you to the eBook's library record. In order to view the actual eBook, click the ' Full Download' or 'Full PDF Text' button on the left hand side of the screen.
2. Many of these eBooks have Limited User Access meaning only 1 person can view the material at a time. If you get a message saying the material is unavailable at this time, check back later and try again. You can view the licensing type and limits at the bottom of the item record.
3. Lastly, the citation tool on the right hand side of your screen will ensure you have an accurate citation for your Works Cited page.
- Encyclopedia of Creation MythsIn encyclopedic format, this book presents creations myths, beliefs of ancient civilizations around the world, including Greeks, Romans, and others.
- Giants, Monsters, and Dragons: An Encyclopedia of Folklore, Legend, and MythAn encyclopedia of monsters, folklore, myths, and legends compiled by Carol Rose. The book features small entries about monsters, folklore, myths and legends from around the world, and includes many illustrations
- A Companion to FolkloreAn original and comprehensive collection of essays from international experts in the field of folklore studies. Unprecedented in depth and scope, this state-of-the-art collection uniquely displays the vitality of folklore research across the globe. An unprecedented collection of original, state of the art essays on folklore authored by international experts Examines the practices and theoretical approaches developed to understand the phenomena of folklore Considers folklore in the context of multi-disciplinary topics that include poetics, performance, religious practice, myth, ritual and symbol, oral textuality, history, law, politics and power as well as the social base of folklore.
Books at Miami
Popular Tales and Fictions by
Clouston's classic study of international folktales, their common origins, and their cultural variations is updated with new research. This classic study of popular tales and fictions is a global map of human imagination reaching back to a time that the author calls "the childhood of the world." First published in two volumes more than a century ago, the book traces familiar themes from strikingly different times, places, and cultures: invisible caps and cloaks, shoes of swiftness, inexhaustible purses, gold-producing animals, life tokens, bird maidens, forbidden rooms, fairy hinds, magic barks, thankful beasts, and magical transformations. The author investigates their origins, examines their variations, and follows their migration from one culture to another. Editor Christine Goldberg brings this classic up to date with an introduction that evaluates and expands the original work in the light of current scholarship.
Call Number: GR65 .C413 2002ISBN: 1576076164Publication Date: 2002-12-10
Medieval Folklore by
Over a decade in the making, Medieval Folklore offers a wide-ranging guide to the lore of the Middle Ages--from the mundane to the supernatural. Definitive and lively articles focus on the great tales and traditions of the age and includes information on daily and nightly customs and activities; religious beliefs of the pagan, Christian, Muslim, and Jew; key works of oral and written literature; traditional music and art; holidays and feasts; food and drink; and plants and animals, both real and fantastical. While most books on medieval folklore focus primarily on the West, this unique volume brings together an eclectic range of experts to treat the subject from a global perspective. Especially remarkable are the surveys of the major medieval traditions including Arab-Islamic, Baltic, English, Finno-Ugric, French, Hispanic, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Jewish, Scandinavian, Scottish, Slavic, and Welsh. For anyone who has ever wanted a path through the tangle of Arthurian legends, or the real lowdown on St. Patrick, or the last word on wolf lore--this is the place to look. The contributors: Ulrich Marzolph -- Arab-Islamic Thomas A. DuBois -- Baltic John McNamara & Carl Lindahl -- English Thomas A. DuBois -- Finno-Ugric Francesca Canadé Sautman -- French Samuel G. Armistead -- Hispanic Éva Pócs -- Hungarian Joseph Falaky Nagy -- Irish Giuseppe C. Di Scipio -- Italian Eli Yassif -- Jewish Stephen A. Mitchell -- Scandinavian John McNamara -- Scottish Eve Levin -- Slavic Elissa R. Henken & Brynley F. Roberts -- Welsh
Call Number: GR35 .M43 2002ISBN: 0195147723Publication Date: 2002-05-23
The Greenwood Library of World Folktales [4 Volumes] by
From the Amazon to the Arctic, the world is teeming with diverse cultures. There's no better way for students to explore the world's cultural diversity than through its folktales. Presenting tales from the foundations of the world's traditions, literature, daily life, and popular culture, The Greenwood Library of World Folktales: Stories from the Great Collections gathers together a vast array of folktales and arranges them according to region or cultural group, thus allowing students to quickly and conveniently learn about the tales of particular cultures. Some of these stories have been told for centuries, while others have emerged only in recent times. The four-volume set includes introductory essays in addition to explanatory headnotes, and provides bibliographies on particular regions as well as a selected, general bibliography. The most comprehensive work of its kind, this set gives students and general readers a guided tour of the world's folktales. Each volume of the set is devoted to a particular broad geographic region: Volume 1: Africa, The Middle East, Australia and Oceania Volume 2: Asia Volume 3: Europe Volume 4: North and South America Accessible, informative, and entertaining, this book will help literature students learn how to analyze texts and understand the traditions at the heart of many of the world's literary masterpieces. It will also help social studies students learn about the world's cultures and respect ethnic diversity. Volumes are devoted to particular geographic regions. Tales are clustered in sections devoted to particular cultural groups within broad regions. Introductory essays discuss the tales and traditions of different areas. Tales are accompanied by explanatory headnotes. The set includes regional bibliographies and a selected, general bibliography of resources suitable for student research. Supports the literature curriculum by helping students analyze texts and understand the tales fundamental to many literary works. Supports the social studies curriculum by helping students learn about different cultures. Promotes respect for cultural and ethnic diversity.
Call Number: GR74 .G74 2008 v.1ISBN: 0313337837Publication Date: 2008-02-28
Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art, by
Written by an international team of acclaimed folklorists, this reference text provides a cross-cultural survey of the major types and methods of inquiry in folklore. Did you know that the tale of Cinderella is over 1,000 years old, and similar versions of this singular story exist in hundreds of cultures around the globe? Have you heard of "deathlore," a subgenre of folklore involving tombstones, coffins, cemeteries, and roadside memorial shrines? Did you realize that UFO sightings and cyber cultures constitute modern folklore? The broad field of folklore studies, developed over the past two centuries, provides significant insights into many aspects of human culture. While the term "folklore" conjures images of ancient practices and beliefs or folk heroes and traditional stories, it also applies to today's ever-changing cultural landscape. Even certain aspects of modern Internet-based popular culture and contemporary rites of passage represent folklore. This encyclopedia covers all the major genres of both ancient and contemporary folklore. This second edition adds more than 100 entries that examine the folklore practices of major ethnic groups, folk heroes, creatures of myth and legend, and emerging areas of interest in folklore studies. Contains contributions from major scholars such as David Leeming, Linda Degh, and Dan Ben-Amos Numerous photographs bring the subject material to life More than 300 entries, each concluding with a bibliography of references Over 50 sidebars provide biographical information on major folklore collectors and scholars
Call Number: GR35 .F63 1997 v.1ISBN: 1598842412Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Encyclopedia of American Folklore by
Folklore has been described as the unwritten literature of a culture: its songs, stories, sayings, games, rituals, beliefs, and ways of life. ""Encyclopedia of American Folklore"" helps readers explore topics, terms, themes, figures, and issues related to this popular subject. This comprehensive reference guide addresses the needs of multiple audiences, including high school, college, and public libraries, archive and museum collections, storytellers, and independent researchers. Its content and organization correspond to the ways educators integrate folklore within literacy and wider learning objectives for language arts and cultural studies at the secondary level. This new work connects United States folk forms with their cultural origin, historical context, and social function, making this volume a well-rounded resource for students of folklore. Appendixes include a bibliography, a category index, and a discussion of starting points for researching American folklore. References and bibliographic material throughout the text highlight recently published and commonly available materials for further study. Coverage includes: folk heroes and legendary figures, including Paul Bunyan and Yankee Doodle; fables, fairy tales, and myths often featured in American folklore, including ""Little Red Riding Hood"" and ""The Princess and the Pea""; American authors who have added to or modified folklore traditions, including Washington Irving; historical events that gave rise to folklore, including the Civil Rights movement and the Revolutionary War; terms in folklore studies, such as fieldwork and the Folklife Movement; holidays and observances, such as Christmas and Kwanzaa; topics related to folklore in everyday life, such as sports folklore and courtship/dating folklore; folklore related to cultural groups, such as Appalachian folklore and African-American folklore; and more.
Call Number: GR105 .W38 2007 v.1ISBN: 0816056994Publication Date: 2007-01-30
Useful Websites
- American Folklore SocietyThe American Folklore Society is an association of people who study and communicate knowledge about folklore throughout the world. Many of our members live and work in the US, but their interests in folklore stretch around the world.
- SurLaLuneSurLaLune Fairy Tales features 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations and illustrations.
- Folklore and Mythology Electronic TextsA library of folktales, folklore, fairy tales, and mythology.