ENG 298: Introduction to Literary and Cultural Studies: Finding Articles
Articles - a great place to start!
- Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
- Use limiters - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA citation.
- "Research Starter" provides a topic overview.
- To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record. (not the browser URL)
Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3 min., 2018)
Need a Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Article? Who writes them? Why? Where do you find one?
- Peer Review in 3 Minutes (NCSU Libraries)
- Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)
Literary and Historical Databases
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowAn index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines. Provides very good coverage of little magazines and literary reviews and, for 2000-, for scholarly journals in the humanities (history, literature, philosophy, and religion). An index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines in history, literature, philosophy and religion. Includes coverage of more specialized journals and literary reviews.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowUndergraduate resource in the Gale Literary Criticism Series. Provides access to criticism (excerpts or full-text) published from an author's own time to the present as well as biographical information and some historical context. The criticism includes scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and journals. Includes three collections: Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism. For peer-reviewed criticism see the MLA International Bibliography.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Designed for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more, drawn from these sources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new windowFull-text of the complete run of New York Times including with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrations in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles. 1851-3 years ago.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSource for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of the daily edition of the Times, London newspaper. The daily edition of the Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the Sunday edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarAcademic research articles and books, found through Google. Some will be freely accessible, and some will require a subscription.