Focus your topic by asking yourself the following questions:
WHO does your topic focus on (population or group)?
WHAT are the subtopics?
WHEN is the time period you're focusing on (this year, last five years)?
WHERE is the geographic location your topic deals with (e.g. United States, universities, small towns)?
WHY is this topic important to you, the field or your class?
Databases
The following databases are great places to get topic ideas, or learn more about a subject of interest. While they do not provide scholarly content, they include detailed essays covering hot topics currently trending in the news.
Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each issue reports in-depth on a single theme in the areas of political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.