CMR 244 - Ferguson: Current Events
What to Know
While a lot of business news is available online, you may encounter a 'pay wall' for some articles (you are blocked after viewing an article X number of times unless you are a subscriber.) The following news and current events databases are subscription-based, but Miami University has already paid for access. These should all provide full text articles from newspapers, magazines, peer-reviewed-scholarly sources, and more.
Current Events Research Tools
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the 
button to cross-search other databases for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
If the button does NOT lead you to the full- text, you can order the article for FREE through Interlibrary Loan. The article will be emailed to you, usually in just a few days. You can also email ME and I will help you look for it.