chat loading...

CIT 231: Find Articles

Why use these article search tools?

These article search tools are subscriptions the library purchases for you so that you never have to pay for access. If you are ever prompted to pay for access to an article, ask a librarian. We can help!

A good basic article search can be done with our Articles & More search tool. It searches across a huge number of general and subject-specific databases. It lets you limit to peer-reviewed scholarly articles and has a built-in citation generator tool. It includes all of the specific search tools listed below. Use those tools if you won't want to be overwhelmed with search results.

Library Databases for HIT @ Miami

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Computer and Applied Science Complete (CASC) covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. full-text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative journal citation database containing over 29 million references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles dating back to 1946.
Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed includes everything in MEDLINE and additional life sciences journals, 'in-process' articles, older citations (pre-1966), and more.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based Practice. Provides high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Find Full-Text

Yellow Find It! button If you don't find full-text for an article in the database you're searching, click the yellow "Find It" button to find it in another library database.

Peer-Reviewed/Scholarly?

Limit database searches to Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly/Academic Journals.

Click on a source title or journal name in an article record to see if it is marked: Peer-Reviewed -YES.

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2024 11:05 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/CIT231
Print Page