BUS 217- Kinghorn/Green: Sustainable Business Solutions: Home
Best Bet Research Databases
Company & ESG Research
- FactSet This link opens in a new windowNOTE: Users must create an account via THIS LINK.
FactSet is a research database that provides global company, market, and industry data, analytical tools and data feeds. It provides economic and financial data, including ESG, fixed income, commodities, futures, as well as company and industry analyses and real-time news.Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business.
Bloomberg Terminals- These can be found in the on the first floor of the Farmer School of Business in the Trading Center. (FSB 1013)
Environmental, Social & Governance research can be done by loading an equity (public company) on the terminal then using the function ESG.
More in-depth instructions can be found in the google doc linked below. Accessible only to Miami students and faculty using their Miami account.
Industry Research
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
Negative Company Environmental News
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCan access environmental news on companies by searching the company name and relevant keywords then using the "Negative News" filter on the left hand side of the results.
Company Research
Public Company Research
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowMarketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
Private Company Research
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook has set the login to an SSO. Instructions for accessing Pitchbook can be found here.
The PitchBook platform provides access to information about private companies, venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions for startups and high growth companies, including pre- and post-money valuations, investment amounts, investment round (seed, series a, etc.), angel group and institutional investor names, and investee information (founder and CEO names, location, age, degrees, etc.). Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business Entrepreneurship Department.
ESG Research
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCan access ESG scores by searching through the CSRHub ESG Ratings source.
To do this simply type in the source name then choose it from the dropdown.
Once you have selected the source, search the company name.
Make sure to click the "Show Full Document" button to access the broken down scores.
Industry Research
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowOn campus access only. BCC Research provides detailed market research reports in emerging industries including biotech, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and information technology.
To login click on the Member Login button, then the IP Authenticate button. - Marketline This link opens in a new windowMarketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
Research Articles
- NYU Stern Center for Sustainable Business - Research DatabaseDatabase of Research on the Role of Sustainability/ESG in Corporate and Investor Financial Performance. Contains research articles vetted by NYU Stern
Social Sciences Librarian
Business News Research
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
