NY Times & WSJ
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowDuring the remote instruction period, off-campus account registration and login for the New York Times is available
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months - Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new windowFull FREE access to the WSJ online for ALL Miami students, staff, and faculty. To sign up, go to the WSJ registration page at http://wsj.com/MiamiOH. Once you set up your account, you can go directly to https://www.wsj.com/ from any device anywhere in the world.
Print & eBooks
Innovative Leadership in Times of Compelling Changes by ISBN: 9783030672577Publication Date: 2021-11-01This book focuses on the need of leaders in professional and personal realms to understand the importance of innovative thinking to safeguard sustainability and enhance satisfaction and motivation among stakeholders in organizations.
Strategic Leadership and Systems Thinking by ISBN: 9781003099154Publication Date: 2020-12-28This book is about a new strategic leader - one who, inspired by General Systems Theory (GST), envisions an organization in which people and groups work together interdependently across organizational divides to reach a shared, rewarding future. GST has dramatically influenced physics, biology, economics, healthcare and environmental science, but has not as yet had any significant influence on the way companies work and are structured.
A Handbook of Management Theories and Models for Office Environments and Services by ISBN: 9781003128786Publication Date: 2021-08-02Although workplace design and management are gaining more and more attention from modern organizations, workplace research is still very fragmented and spread across multiple disciplines in academia. There are several books on the market related to workplaces, facility management (FM), and corporate real estate management (CREM) disciplines, but few open up a theoretical and practical discussion across multiple theories from different disciplines. Therefore, workplace researchers are not aware of all the angles from which workplace management and effects of workplace design on employees has been or could be studied.
Best Bets
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
- Human Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly and practitioner journal articles focusing on human resources, including human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new windowA collection of global business cases from a variety of industries. Areas of focus include: marketing, operations management, small business and entrepreneurship, international business, human resource management and more. Users may encounter content after 2020 in this database the library has not purchased.
Your Librarian
Streaming Videos
- LeadershipPrimarily focuses on women-owned businesses
Citation Help & Database Tutorials
- Citation ResourcesGuide to various citation styles with examples.
- Database videosShort videos demonstrating how to use the library databases.