BSC 292: Applied Biology (Keiffer)
Libraries @ Miami University Regionals
Articles & More - Search 90+ databases at once & get 1 results list. Limit to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
Books & More - To view or download an eBook, Click the link "Connect to... in the catalog record.
Subject Guides by Miami Librarians
Biology - Miami Subject Guide
Paraphrasing, Plagiarism, and Academic Integrity
- Preventing PlagiarismWhat is plagiarism and how can you prevent it?
- ParaphrasingWhat is paraphrasing and how can you effectively paraphrase?
- Successful vs. Unsuccessful ParaphrasingHow can you tell if your paraphrasing is successful?
Library Databases for Biological Sciences
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowContaining bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new windowBiological and Agricultural Index Plus is a database of full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from essential biology and agricultural research journals. It is a valuable tool for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information. Content covers physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
APA Citations: Guides and Tutorials
- APA Citation GuideFind examples of in-text and Works Cited format for APA citations
- Excelsior OWL APA Citation GuideProvides videos and examples of APA citation format.
MLA Citations: Guides and Tutorials
- MLA Citation Style GuideIncludes sample citations and guidance on doing in-text citations.
- Excelsior OWL MLA Citation GuideIncludes an overview of how the MLA style works, both in writing your paper and in creating citations.
Welcome
Your librarian can help with:
- Searching Miami University Libraries' collections, databases, and Internet
- Getting full-text articles
- Citing in Modern Language Association (MLA) or American Psychological Association (APA) citation style
Research Tips:
Off-campus? Enter your Miami ID and Password when prompted to search databases and eBook collections.
Your Middletown Librarian
4200 N. University Blvd.
Middletown, OH 45042
Biological Sciences Faculty
- Department of Biological Sciences Faculty and StaffLearn more about the faculty and staff that make up the Department of Biological Sciences
Citation Managers
If you are interested in using a citation manager to gather your research source citations and format them as needed, see our Citation Managers guide.
You may also see the Citing Sources page of the library site for a number of useful links and tips for information on how cite your sources and also some tools that will help you do so. And whatever you do, don't forget the ability to email yourself an APA, MLA, or Chicago citation from Articles & More and other databases. If you don't know how to do this, just ask me!