BIO 161 Principles of Human Physiology (Allen): Finding Journal Articles
Databases and Research Guides
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowThis rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full-text for current health pamphlets.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCreated by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Use these sources to find more information on the topics you are researching, or to discover topics that interest you:
Research guides - with more databases and other information sources on the following topics
Articles & More - a great place to start!
- Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
- Use limiters - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA citation.
- "Research Starter" provides a topic overview.
- To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record. (not the browser URL)
Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3 min., 2018)
Need a Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Article? Who writes them? Why? Where do you find one?
- Peer Review in 3 Minutes (NCSU Libraries)
- Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.