Alma / Primo VE Migration

Primo VE is the discovery interface, which will replace Ebsco's EDS (Ebsco Discovery Service) and our "Classic Catalog". This will be the primary interface through which users will discover and access the library's resources, both print and electronic. It will also have the ability to integrate with the Canvas Learning Management System.

RESOURCES

• Primo Essentials
  Recommended for all librarians and library staff. A general introduction to the Primo VE discovery interface.
• Primo VE LibGuide -- from ExLibris
  ExLibris guide that covers details on search, display, and Primo VE webinars

• Formats allow you to focus your search results to specific library material formats such as Articles, Books, and Video.
• Locations:
  • Our Nearly Everything search includes the central index for our databases, our Miami University Library holdings, OhioLink consorita holdings, and course reserves combined.
  • Miami University Libraries Catalog includes all the libraries' physical holdings as well as a selection of e-resources such as e-book collections.
  • OhioLink Catalog can now be searched directly within Primo instead of a separate library catalog.
  • Databases Only is the central index of all our subscription databases including all the journal-magazine-newspaper articles, video, and ebooks available within those subscriptions. However, a small percentage of our databases are not available in this index.
  • Course Reserves are the textbooks and other course materials reserved at the library main desk.
• Once in Primo, you will be able to search for more specific formats, including a Newspaper Search to search for daily news.