- Miami University Libraries
- Subject & Course Guides
- Regionals
- CMA183
- Finding Articles
CMA183: Finding Articles
Important Note
Please be sure to review the information on the Before You Search! tab on the left menu before you begin searching in the tools listed on this tab. The Before You Search! tab explains what a "peer reviewed" article is and how to tell when you have found one. It also gives tips for building more effective searches. There are brief videos and tutorials that explain how to choose the best keywords, refine your searches, and evaluate the information you find.
Finding Articles
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowClick the blue “Choose Databases” link above the search boxes and add in Art Full Text and Art and Architecture Complete. You can also limit to Scholarly/Peer Reviewed publications. Use the "Find It!" button to look for full-text when none is available. Also use the “Cite” button to get an MLA citation for your articles.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowClick the blue “Advanced Search” link above the text box. Check the box for “Scholarly Journals” and select English in the Language column before entering your search terms. You can open the “Subject/artist” menu to the right of your results list to narrow by topic. Results will be abstracts only. Use the "Find It!" button at the top right to obtain full text of the articles you like. Use the “Cite” icon to get an MLA style citation for your articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowClick “Advanced Search.” Under “Narrow By,” click “Articles” and select English on the “Language” drop down menu. Scroll a little farther down the page and check the box for “Art & Art History” under “Journal Filter.” Click an article title to see additional information about it. On the article page, the blue buttons to the right of the title let you download a PDF of the article (everything in JSTOR is available in full text, so there is no need for the Find It! button), and also to cite the article in multiple styles.
Use the Find It! Button
Most databases do not have the actual journal articles housed on them, some databases, like Academic Search Complete will have some of them. Instead, they usually just contain information about the article. Some databases will allow you to search full-text only, but beware that you are not searching all the articles that we subscribe to.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.