Zines!
In his often-cited book, Notes from the Underground: Zines and the Politics of Alternative Culture, Stephen Duncombe defines zines as Noncommercial, nonprofessional, small circulation, self-published magazines that are not created to turn a profit. They are associated with counter cultures and marginalized peoples, handmade - often with a DIY or collage aesthetic - and use both text and image to make meaning. Both text and images can either be original, as in created by the author or artist, or appropriated from another source, as in the case of collage.
(Portland, OR: Microcosm Publishing, 2017).
This timeline by Duke University gives an excellent (and brief!) history of zines.
Interested in seeing some digital examples of the zines students have made at Miami? Check out the Miami Student Zine Archive!
For a full listing of the Wertz Art and Architecture Zine Archive, please see this finding aid.
Art Zine
- Art ZineI made this zine as a hardcopy. I then digitized it and used FlipHTML5 create the flip book format.
Online Zine Archives
Many of these resources are available to download and print as well as read online.
- Quarantine Public LibraryThe works published here are for anyone to freely download, print and assemble—to keep or give away.
- The Queer Zine ArchiveIncludes over 400 fully digitized zines from queer communities.
- PoC Zine ProjectZines from people of color.
- Zine on the Internet ArchiveContains both individal zines and zine collections.
- Library of Congress Zine Web ArchiveA list of online zines and websites.
- Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical LibraryFrom the University of Kansas on the Internet Archive.
- No BordersLouisville's Radical Lending Library
- Activist JourneysA living archive of radical zines.
- Indigenous Action MediaZines made by indigenous peoples.
- Sprout DistroAn anarchist zine distro (distributor) and publisher.
- Untorelli PressAn anarchist publishing project.
- Send Back My Stamps! Metal History Through FanzinesDeath, thrash, grindcore , and black metal Fanzines.
- Sherwood Forest Zine LibraryAn independent media library focusing on zines and DIY culture.
- DC Punk Archive Zine LibraryFrom the DC Public Library Special Collections.
Websites
- We Make ZinesSocial networking site for zine readers and creators.
- ZineWikiAn open-source encyclopedia devoted to zines and independent media.
- Broken Pencil MagazineThe magazine of zine culture and independent arts.
- The Book of Zines: Readings from the FringeAn index of zine links.
- Grrrl Zine NetworkFocuses on riot grrrl zines and culture.
- Collins Library Zine CollectionZine guide from the University of Puget Sound.
