Welcome to Zineclusivity!
Welcome to Zineclusivity! Join us for a virtual zine workshop as we answer the question, "How can we make Miami more inclusive?" The event will kick off with a tour of the Queer Zine Archive Project, and a discussion with the QZAP co-founder on how zines can be a tool for social justice. Come make, chat, learn, and help us imagine how to make Miami an inclusive place for all!
How it works
In this workshop, each participant will create a single page of a zine. For your zine page, consider the question, "How can we make Miami more inclusive?" If you choose to, you may share your zine page with us (see instructions for scanning below), and we will compile the pages into one collaborative zine.
How to participate
Register Here and you'll receive an email with the link to join the Zoom session!
Queer Zine Archive Project
- Queer Zine Archive Project"The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.
Our mission statement has been consistent over the past nine years:
'The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a "living history" archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create. In curating such a unique aspect of culture, we value a collectivist approach that respects the diversity of experiences that fall under the heading 'queer.'
The primary function of QZAP is to provide a free on-line searchable database of the collection with links allowing users to download electronic copies of zines. By providing access to the historical canon of queer zines we hope to make them more accessible to diverse communities and reach wider audiences.'
Materials
You will need (at minimum)
- 8.5 x 11" sheet of paper
- Scissors
- A writing utensil
Zines can be made with many other materials. Get creative!
- Old magazines, ads, books, maps, newspapers, greeting cards, etc can be used for collage (you will need a glue stick for this)
- Images printed from the internet (I've supplied you with some great open access collections where you can get images!) or saved to your phone
- Printed copies of your own writings that can be remixed or turned into a zine
- Any other crafting supply! Ribbon, glitter, stamps, stickers, washi tape, fabric, crayons, colored pencils, markers (Sharpies are especially associated with the aesthetics of zines), stencils (cookie cutters can make great stencils), paint, different kinds of paper, etc
- Blackout poetry
Zines: More Information
- How to Make a ZineA guide by Miami's Arts & Humanities Librarian, Stefanie Hilles, on creating zines.
Sharing Your Zine Page
Information on scanning your zine page using a smart phone
How to scan documents on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch
Scan documents with Google Drive (Android or iPhone)
*If you're unable to scan your zine page using a smart phone, contact pricesb@miamioh.edu for alternate ways to submit your zine.
- Zine Creative Commons Release FormSubmit this form with your completed zine page, and select your desired Creative Commons license.