Western (Individualized Studies): WST 301: Hill
Background Context
Library catalog: Choose "Books" in the Search dropdown and MU Libraries in the In dropdown to search our print and online books. Books provide excellent historical overviews.
Full Databases A-Z list: Identify databases that will be most relevant to your topic.
Some relevant databases are:
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
-
ATLA Religion Database and ATLASerials, Religion Collection This link opens in a new windowATLASerials Oxford campus users only; ATLA Religion Database available to all users. A comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship.
-
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
-
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Managing Citations
Zotero is a standalone program that works together with a browser extension. You should download and install both before getting started.
1. Go to www.zotero.org.
2. Click on the red button "Download Now".
3. Download Zotero 5.0 (Mac version is shown; it's also available for Windows and Linux) for the standalone program and the Word plugin.
4. Install the Chrome Connector (or Firefox or Safari) for the browser extension.
5. Create a free online account. This creates a space for you on the Zotero server and allows you to add or access your references from any computer through the Zotero interface.
Subject Guide
