chat loading...
Textbook Alternatives & Open Educational Resources (OER): E-books
Linking Directly to E-books in the Library Catalog
You can add a link to a library e-book to your Canvas course site or share it with your students. All of our e-books will have a record in the MU library catalog. If you were interested in having students read from the e-book Creative Teaching: an evidence-based approach, you could add the URL for its location in the catalog by capturing the link highlighted in yellow, or the e-book's location on a publisher website or collection site (either of the links circled in green). In either case, students will be prompted to enter their Unique ID and password when accessing the title.
Search for E-books Owned by Miami University
- Books & MoreSearch the Miami University Libraries catalog for your topic and then limit your search by Material Type to Electronic Resources.
Collections of E-books and Online Texts at Miami University
- eBooks & Online TextsThis page links to several collections of e-books which are available through Miami libraries' subscriptions. A selected group of these collections are listed below.
- EBSCOhost E-BooksA collection of more than 15,000 electronic books on a variety of topics. These e-books can be viewed online or downloaded onto a computer or portable device. You must have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer in order to download these e-books. For additional important information on downloading e-books, please see the FAQ and User Guide.
- Project Muse E-BooksProject MUSE provides full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences books. The MUSE e-book collection provides full-text access to more than 3,000 book titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.
- ProQuest EBook Central This link opens in a new windowBrowse the e-books that Miami University Libraries has purchased on the ProQuest EBook Central site. Note that many titles on this platform can only have 1 simultaneous user.
- Safari Books OnlineElectronic books in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and Associates and Pearson Technology Associates.
- SpringerHigh-quality scientific, technological and medical books from Springer and Springer imprints (Apress, Birkhäuser, Physica-Verlag, Steinkopff, and others) are incorporated into the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center.
- Wiley Online LibraryWiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. The platform allows seamless integrated searching of Wiley e-journals and e-books. Materials marked with an open lock icon are available to Miami users.