Scholarly Metrics: Metrics for Articles

Things to keep in mind about article metrics

In order to complete a citation analysis for a single article, it is important to use multiple tools, since no single database indexes all journals or all issues of a single journal. There is, therefore, a gap in coverage between the different sources for citation counts -- not all sources cover all subjects completely. Besides coverage gaps, every database also covers different types of resources (conference papers, books, dissertations, etc.), while others do not.

The author identity of different resources may differ as well. Some databases or resources do not distinguish between authors with the same or similar names or pull together all publications by authors with variations in names. For example, if an author has not consistently published under the same name or spelling, all of his work may not appear in a single search in Web of Science. Tools like ORCID are designed to address this problem of author disambiguation.

Tools in Web of Science

Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science and Humanities This link opens in a new window
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science and Humanities, accessed via Web of Science, represent the leading edge of research – revealing emerging trends and new ideas before they appear in journals. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Essential Science Indicators This link opens in a new window
In Essential Science Indicators (ESI), accessed via Web of Science, they list Highly Cited Papers, which constitute the top 1% of papers in each of 22 broad fields and each year of coverage. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar tracks cited by of all kinds of resources (journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, etc.)

Word of caution....

It's difficult to track dates and publications that are included in Google Scholar. Also, it has been reported that Google Scholar has incorrectly identified reviewers as authors and journal titles as article titles. So, it shouldn't be the only metric you report.

ICite from PubMed

iCite is a tool to access a dashboard of bibliometrics for papers associated with a portfolio. Users type in a PubMed query or upload the PubMed IDs of articles of interest, optionally grouping IDs for comparison. iCite then displays the number of articles, articles per year, citations per year, and Relative Citation Ratio.

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2024 11:07 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/scholarly_metrics
Print Page