Military Studies: Aerospace Studies, Military Science and Naval Science: Find Articles
Periodicals
Journal Indexes and Databases
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database. If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databases for that same item.
- Air University Library's Index To Military Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject and keyword index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988. Years 1953-1990 available on microform in the SW Depository.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History and Life (AHL) abstracts journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull-text of the entire historical runs many law journals with more being added regularly. Includes Military and Government database.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
- International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIntelligence database for security and threat analysis. full-text for nearly 2,500 full-text resources covering regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security and risk management options. Database includes articles, books, FAQs, images, journals and periodicals, news feeds, proprietary background information, reports and summaries.
- Military and Government This link opens in a new windowCollection consists of books, laws, congressional hearings, committee prints, legislative histories, CRS and GAO Reports, and more. Coverage in this collection deals with military issues from the American Revolution on up to the present War on Terror, with selected titltes from English military history to supplement understanding of the development of America's own military law.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowLexisNexis (now called Nexis Uni) is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains more than 6,000 sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. Use the Easy Search form if you just need a quick answer to a simple query, you're not familiar with advanced searching methods, or you're not sure which sources to use. Enter any terms or phrases, with or without connectors, and Easy Search will determine the best searching method (terms and connectors or natural language) based on what you entered.
Journals and Other Periodicals
Different types of periodicals (something that is published, more than once, i.e. periodically) have different purposes. The indexes listed on this page will lead you to secondary research, journal articles. But some of the following types of periodicals may also be useful.
Journals: Academic and Specialist Audience. The topics will be very focused and expect you to have a professional vocabulary to read the article. They will also contain references documenting the research.
Magazines: General Audience. Articles reflect the culture, ideas, and politics of the day. Generally report rather than analyze issues surrounding a subject. Generally no documentation. Good as primary source.
Primary Article: Academic Audience. A primary article will report the findings from researchers. It presents data and draws conclusions from that data.
Review Article/Literature Review: Academic Audience. Summarizes the research that has been done on a specific topic or area of study. This type of article is useful to understand the development of and theories that surround your topic.