Skip to main content

Microbiology: Home

Important Update

The new PubMed is here.

PubMed has officially implemented its new interface. This is a change that has been in the works for a while; an FAQ about the transition is available and may answer many questions you have. The National Library of Medicine has also created some helpful quick tours and other documentation to help you learn to navigate the new interface. Don't hesitate to reach out to me with questions.

undefined

Best Bets

Web of Science


   

Copyright 2014 Clarivate Analytics   


This is an interdisciplinary database, best-known in the natural sciences. Web of Science's key feature is citation tracking, which allows the user to look up a given article and find additional related papers which have cited it. Our coverage for the Core Collection includes 1900-present.

      PubMed Logo  

       

Based on the MEDLINE literature index, the PubMed web site is a freely-accessible database provided by the National Library of Medicine. It connects to about 30 other genetics and biomedical databases in the larger NCBI system. PubMed's coverage extends from 1950-present.

Web of Science


   

Copyright 2014 Clarivate Analytics   


Also known as Biological Abstracts, this index gives the most comprehensive coverage of literature in the life sciences, including journal articles, meeting abstracts, and books. Covers basic and applied biology broadly, e.g. agriculture, biochemistry, ecology, medicine, neuroscience, and physiology. Our coverage includes 1969-present.

Researching a New Topic

New to the library?  Have an assignment for a paper or presentation that requires science literature research, and you're not sure how to start?  Here are some tips to the types of resources the Libraries hold, and when to use them:

Getting the Basics:

If you are completely new to a topic, some Reference sources and text Books may be helpful to learn terminology, get an overview of a field, or even to get ideas for what to write about.  Likewise, you might want to search for review Articles published in scientific journals or in popular scientific magazines.

Digging Deeper:

Once you have a better handle on the topic you are writing about, you may need to turn to the primary scientific literature to find sufficient detail to fulfill your assignment.  Professional science literature consists mostly of Articles in scientific journals (and occasionally Books).  

Writing and Citing Sources:

While doing literature research and writing, it is critical that you keep track of the sources you use and Cite them properly in your final product.

Your Librarian

Ginny Boehme's picture
Ginny Boehme

My fall semester office hours:
Mondays, 3pm-5pm
Wednesdays, 12pm-3pm

I will hold office hours via my personal Zoom room.


Contact:
202 King Library
513-529-1726