Best bet for articles from academic journals in the field of Sociology
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Best bet for articles in academic journals in the field of education.
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals, and full text for more than 750 of them. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It also has the full text for over 100 monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
Best bet for articles from academic journals in the field of Psychology
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations with abstracts for an array of subjects related to psychology including, education, business, medicine, nursing, law, social work, and animal behavior. PsycINFO covers all types of publications including journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, and dissertations. References include material from 45 countries and in several languages.
Best bet for articles related to health, healthcare, and wellness.
CINAHL (Comprehensive Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals and includes more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Best bet for academic and popular articles in the field of Social Work
Social Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present. This database provides exceptional coverage of more than 450 journals in all areas of the profession, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Additional topics included pertain to the social sciences, gerontology, welfare, public health, criminology, and education as well as all areas of human services.
Best bet for articles in the interdisciplinary field of Gerontology
AGELINE, a comprehensive bibliographic database produced by AARP, provides coverage of gerontology related topics. With references from both academic and general publications, AGELINE contains indexes and abstracts of books, journals, research reports, consumer guides, book chapters, and video reviews. It is a valuable source of information on the delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies are particularly well covered, as are public policy issues, theories of aging, Social Security, Medicare/Medicaid, marketing to older adults, elder care, Alzheimers, financial and retirement planning, fitness, nutrition, and housing.