Environmental Sciences: Home
Best Bets
Offers deep coverage in environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Primary coverage is from 1975-present, with limited coverage from 1960.
Copyright 2014 Clarivate Analytics |
Also known as Biological Abstracts, this index gives the most comprehensive coverage of literature in the life sciences, including journal articles, meeting abstracts, and books. Covers basic and applied biology broadly, e.g. agriculture, biochemistry, ecology, medicine, neuroscience, and physiology. Our coverage includes 1969-present.
- Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
GEOBASE search widget under construction! Please click the link above to be taken directly to the database page.
Geobase provides comprehensive bibliographic references to important journals in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. International in scope, Geobase provides coverage from over 1,800 primary journals, books, monographs, reports, and theses. Geobase pulls together the information from seven abstracts journals - Geological Abstracts, Geomechanics Abstracts, Geographical Abstracts: Human Geography, Geographical Abstracts: Physical Geography, Ecological Abstracts, International Development Abstracts to enable comprehensive multidisciplinary searches of international literature.
Researching a New Topic
New to the library? Have an assignment for a paper or presentation that requires science literature research, and you're not sure how to start? Here are some tips to the types of resources the Libraries hold, and when to use them:
Getting the Basics:
If you are completely new to a topic, some Books may be helpful to learn terminology, get an overview of a field, or even to get ideas for what to write about. Likewise, you might want to search for review Articles published in scientific journals or in popular scientific magazines.
Digging Deeper:
Once you have a better handle on the topic you are writing about, you may need to turn to the primary scientific literature to find sufficient detail to fulfill your assignment. Professional science literature consists mostly of Articles in scientific journals (and occasionally Books). To track down particular bits of information you need, authoritative Web Sites may be the place to look.
Writing and Citing Sources:
While doing literature research and writing, it is critical that you keep track of the sources you use and Cite them properly in your final product.
