chat loading...

Engineering Technology (Regionals): Find Articles

Engineering Article Databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a premier database for information in computing engineering, electrical engineering, and electronics. Full text access is available for over 130 journals and 600 conference proceedings, including all IEEE standards. Coverage for all titles is available from 1988, with selected titles from 1913.
Some articles on IEEE Xplore have Code and/or Datasets that have been submitted by authors along with published works. IEEE Xplore document pages have badges on the top-right of the page to denote the availability of this supplemental information. There are two types of badges: 'Code Available' and 'Datasets Available'.
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database. Compendex covers the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Miami subscribes to three of the Thomson database products, Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). To access them click on the Web of Science link. The unique feature of Web of Science is the cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited.

Engineering Databases for Specific Disciplines (Mechanical, Electrical, etc.)

Knovel (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Knovel, accessible on its own or within Engineering Village. Tools include an e-book library, material property search, equation solver, and unit converter. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library contains full text of every journal article and conference proceeding published by the Association for Computing Machinery (about 54,000 articles from 30 journals and 900 conference proceeding titles). Also contains "The Guide" (know as the ACM Guide to Computing Literature), a more comprehensive computer science database that contains over 600,000 citations. Materials in the guide are from ACM and additional publishers, and not all are available via full text.
Also contains "The Guide" (know as the ACM Guide to Computing Literature), a more comprehensive computer science database that contains over 600,000 citations. Materials in the guide are from ACM and additional publishers, and not all are available via full text.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC) covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1,300 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is also available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.
CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. full-text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers This link opens in a new window
Full text access to a collection of 25 technical journals from theAmerican Society of Mechanical Engineers from 2000 forward.
Includes a Twitter feed and an interface for browsing, as well as pre-prints and a portal for submissions.
Energy & Power Source This link opens in a new window
Energy and Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. This collection provides full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to the energy and power industries, including those focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.
Energy and Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing from more than 1,000 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. The database also offers tens of thousands of additional highly-relevant articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from a multitude of trade and industry publications.
Shock and Vibration Digest This link opens in a new window
Shock and Vibration Digest provides wide-ranging content, including full-text records. Topics include: noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, and engineering.
Shock and Vibration Digest includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains records selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Sound and Vibration, Journal of Vibration & Control, etc.

Scholarly Journal or Popular Periodical?

Anatomy of a Scholary Article by NCSU Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes by NCSU Libraries

Scholarly journals contain peer-reviewed articles which report original research or provide in-depth analysis. The language is technical. Graphs, tables, and references are included. They are written by professors, researchers, and scholars.

Popular periodicals cover current topics, written in everyday language, including color images, and rarely cite sources. They are written by journalists.

Explore Engineering Careers

Articles & More - EBSCO Discovery Service

Last Updated: Aug 16, 2024 3:15 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/ent
Print Page

Subjects: Engineering, Engineering Technology