ENG 134 (Shakespeare) - Kickel
Welcome to your Research Guide
This research guide will help you find sources for ENG 134's Shakespeare Criticism Essay Assignment. You are required to find at least 1 contemporary critical essay, book chapter, or book that focus on the assigned play. The databases below are the main way to find the required sources. It's a good idea to find more than the minimum number of sources. Be sure to read over these guidelines on MLA Style, and ask for help from the Writing Center if needed. If you need help from me, please contact me using the blue "Email Me' button below my picture. Good luck!
Quick Links
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Some full-text.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Designed for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more, drawn from these sources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.
- Books & MoreUse Books & More to find scholarly books and book chapters in the Miam University Libraries online catalog.
Citing in MLA Style
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) MLA Style - A useful guide to the 9th ed. of MLA Style with sample papers, citation examples, and how to do in-text citations.
MLA Handbook - Online version of the MLA style handbook. Outlines how to document sources and format research papers.
Your Librarian at Hamilton
205 Schwarm
Miami University Regionals (Hamilton)