- Miami University Libraries
- Subject & Course Guides
- Regionals
- ENG 112 - CCP
- Finding Scholarly Articles
ENG 112 - CCP: Finding Scholarly Articles
Important Note
Please be sure to review the information on the Before You Search! tab on the left menu before you begin searching in the tools listed on this tab. The Before You Search! tab explains what a "peer reviewed" article is and how to tell when you have found one. It also gives tips for building more effective searches. There are brief videos and tutorials that explain how to choose the best keywords, refine your searches, and evaluate the information you find.
Finding Articles - Literary Criticism and History
- MLA International BibliographyAn index to scholarly articles and book chapters published on literatures, folklore, and languages.
- JSTORDigital library of older issues of scholarly journals from the humanities and social sciences. The content for many titles will be 2-5 years old and older.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowContains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more, drawn from these sources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.
- Historical AbstractsWorld history from 1450 C.E. to the present. This index also includes major European-language journals.
- Humanities with Full TextIndexing and full text for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
- America: History and LifeAmerican and Canadian history1450 C.E. to the present.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
Most databases do not have the actual journal articles housed on them, some databases, like Academic Search Complete will have some of them. Instead, they usually just contain information about the article. Some databases will allow you to search full-text only, but beware that you are not searching all the articles that we subscribe to.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.