chat loading...

ENG 109 (Hamilton): Home

Find Books and Articles

Books & More - Use this to search *only* for books, e-books, videos, and other items owned by the libraries.

Academic Search Complete - Use this to find popular and scholarly articles.

Find Ebooks

Search By: Keyword

Get Only Ebooks: In the left-hand column, click on the arrow next to "Material Type" and then check the box next to "Electronic Resources". (red arrow in screenshot)

Change Date Range: by sliding the rule under "Publication Date" or by typing in specific years in the boxes. (red box in screenshot) Your results list will then only include items that were published within your specified date range.

Click on the title of an item to find out more information about that item and to get the citation for that item. To find the citation, click on the icon that looks like a yellow piece of paper and says "Cite" when you hover over it. Then find the MLA citation, and you can highlight, copy, and paste that into your references page. Always be sure to double-check your copied citations, though. Sometimes formatting, such as italics and hanging indents, aren’t correct. Information is typically in the correct order, but good to double-check that as well.

Pro/Con Research Tools

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Search or browse current controversial topics in the news. Includes book chapters, magazine articles, news sources, data, opinion/editorial content, and more. Uses MLA Style citations by default but you can also get other citation styles if needed.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each issue reports in-depth on a single theme in the areas of political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

Your Librarians

Contact your Rentschler Library librarians:

Krista McDonald mcdonak@miamioh.edu

Mark Shores shoresmL@miamioh.edu

Briana McQueen mcqueebn@miamioh.edu

Call the library at 513-785-3235, or contact us via chat and text

Last Updated: Sep 2, 2022 8:29 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/eng109Hamilton
Print Page