Skip to Main Content

Criminology: Journal Articles

Education Databases

History Databases

Legal Resources

Use Nexis Uni database to locate the full text of case law & law journal articles.  Nexis Uni contains the full text of most legislation, public laws, and the congressional record.  For additional resources related to law, see research guide for law and legal research.

Newspapers

Social Sciences Databases

How do I know if something is peer reviewed?

If you are looking for peer reviewed articles, there are a number of ways to locate them.  One way is to limit your database searches to only articles in peer reviewed publications.  Many databases allow you to do this.  For example, most EBSCO Host databases have a box labeled "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" in the limiters section under the main search boxes.

Another way is to use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.  This is an authoritative source for information about periodicals.  Simply search the title of the journal using a title (keyword) search in the search box ont he top right of the page.  If the journal is labeled as refereed: yes (or has a little icon of a referee's jersey in the results list) then it is a peer reviewed publication.

Why would I want an article?

Primary article:

A primary article, sometimes called a primary resource, contains original research on a topic.

Review article:

A review article, sometimes called a secondary resource, summarizes research done on a topic.

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection.  An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item.  You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.