Composition and Rhetoric: Reference

Reference Works

Reference works are a good source to go to find out background information on a topic or to look up a quick fact. This page will combine both online and print reference works. Most of the print reference works will be located on the ground floor of King, in the IMC.

Online Reference Works

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical articles on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all subject areas from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, and Dictionary of American Biography. Updated continuously
It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
A comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion, with articles on theory, history, and practice, with special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.
2006, Oxford Reference Online
English Language Reference - Oxford Reference Collection
Searches simultaneously in multiple reference works about English language, usage, and linguistics published by Oxford University Press.
From Talking Drums to the Internet: An Encyclopedia of Communications Technology
1997, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Lengthy articles, with bibliographies, on literary critics, schools, theories, and movements.
Literacy in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Theory, and Practice
ABC-CLIO
2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
List of periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the origin and historical use of every common word known to have been used in English since 1150.
2d ed., 20 v., 1989, updated on a quarterly basis culminating in a 3d ed., Oxford University Press

MLA Style

MLA Style Quick Guide (from NMU)

MLA Handbook Call Number LB2369.G53 2009

Print Reference Works

Print reference books related to the study of composition and rhetoric are on the first floor of King.

Here are a couple of basic titles that you might find helpful:

The Craft of Research by Wayne Booth. Q180.55.M4 B66 2008

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric by Thomas Sloane. PN172 .E52 2001

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: Communication from Ancient Times to the Information Age by Theresa Enos.

PN172 .E53 1996

The Penguin Dictionary of Critical Theory by David Macey. PN98.S6 M33 2000

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2024 11:41 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/composition
Print Page

Subjects: English