Skip to main content

Commerce/Small Business (Regionals): Project-Specific Resources

Finding SIC and NAICS Codes for an Industry

For SIC (the Standard Industrial Classification), use the U.S. Department of Labor's site.  Type in your product or service, and you'll get one or more numbers that match.  

For NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes, see the NAICS Association site (it also has a search for SIC codes).  

These codes can be used to search the sources below for information related to an industry.

Industry Analysis Resources

To find information about companies involved in an industry, use the following sources:

Hoover's D&B Business Browser - this source offers individual company information (as we'll see below), but it's also great for industry overviews. To start, click on the "Research Industries" box in the main part of the page and then click "Get Started."  You can then search by keywords, industry names, or codes. You can enter multiple options. Then click "View Results" at the bottom of the page. The resulting page will direct you to industry summaries and related industry pages that might fit the industry you seek. 

IBIS World - in this source you can browse the first page for your industry, or use either of the two search blanks to enter your industry name.  You will be taken to the industry report that matches what you type or given suggestions of related industries.  Each report has a "key competitor" section that will identify major companies in the industry.

Marketline (Datamonitor) - click on "browse all industry results" to get started.  You can enter the name of your industry in the search blank under "Refine Your Search" - "Search within results" to find related industry profiles.  Use the choices in the left hand menu under "Refine by industry" to make your search more specific.  Once you choose an industry profile from the results in the main part of the window, you'll open it as a PDF file.  Look at the "leading companies" section of the profile for locating competitors within the industry.  Be sure to watch the under six minute video on using Marketline created by the Cass Library for help. 

Customer Analysis Resources

The following sources are excellent for finding information on consumers:

Mediamark - this database provides excellent survey information on individual products, showing how much of the product was consumed (and by whom) and what the outlook is for future use.  It segments consumers by income and age, and also by their readership of magazines and by audiences for television networks and web sites.  (Be sure to look at the Mediamark handout for login information and navigation help).

 

Global Market Information Database - enter the name of your product or industry in the search blank in the upper right hand corner of the screen.  You will see results in the middle of the page, listing the available reports on your product or industry.  Since this is a global database, be sure to note any geographic focus for a report (it's usually right in the title).  The reports will give you the outlook and prospects for the product or industry, and consumer trends related to it.  

 

Competitor Analysis Resources

To find information about companies involved in an industry, use the following sources:

 

Hoover's D&B Business Browser - as noted above, this source offers individual company information on over 14 million companies. To find information on a specific company, type the name of the company in the search box at the top of the page (the search box says "Search for a Company). Any companies in the database that include the word or phrase that you type will appear under the search box. Select the appropriate one. in a results list. You will then see a comprehensive report about the company you selected. Click on "Competitors" in the left-hand menu to see a list of competitors.

 

Marketline (Datamonitor) - Marketline includes profiles of over 50,000 companies.  To search for a specific company, click on "Browse all companies information."  Then you can enter the name of a company in the search blank, or browse for the company by industry, geography, size, or revenue.  For more guidance on the database, be sure to watch the brief video on using Marketline created by the Cass Library.

For a freely-available source, you can also check EDGAR, a database of company financial reports maintained by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).  Click on "search for company filings."

 

Another freely-available database is ThomasNet.com. If you are seeking a manufacturing company, it is likely to be listed in this directory. You can also use this database to find other companies in the same industry.

 

It's a good idea to check multiple sources for information on a company to confirm that data given in one source is correct or that you are getting the most current information on the company you seek.

 

Video Tutorials

The following brief tutorials will show you how to use the resources on the right.   

There are additional how-to videos (created by Susan Hurst) located at Business: Database Videos.