chat loading...
Non-profit and Community Studies (Regionals): Articles
Find Articles for Core Courses
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowA database that covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents. Limited full-text.
Find articles for Organizational Leadership block
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
- Human Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis index includes more than 100,000 entries (some are full-text) covering areas related to human resources, including human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas.
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to periodicals and reference books, case studies, company profiles and videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV, a social network site for tech entrepreneurs.
Find articles for Communities, Families, Societies, and Inequalities block
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains information on the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Additional topics include: addictions, child and family welfare, civil and legal rights, education, human services, mental health, therapy. 8 simultaneous users.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
- Sociological Collection This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of resources related to sociology.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn index focused on content relating specifically to the relationship between races, specifically the social, political, and economic relations between races and ethnicities. Subjects covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Limited full-text.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowIndex to academic research on women, gender studies, sexual diversity, gender identity, masculinity, feminism, and LGBTQ issues. 1930-present, although the bulk of the content is 1970s -present.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index to research articles on women's studies, including sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
Find articles for Communication and Community-Based Advocacy block
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEssential database for resources on criminal justice and criminology.
- Legal Collection This link opens in a new windowDatabase for law publications. Most titles are full-text. 1965-present, although the bulk of the collection is 1990s- present. See also: Nexis Uni and Hein Online which have more publications and search through the full-text of the articles.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
Scholarly Journal or Popular Periodical?
Anatomy of a Scholary Article by NCSU Libraries
Peer Review in 3 Minutes by NCSU Libraries
Scholarly journals contain peer-reviewed articles which report original research or provide in-depth analysis. The language is technical. Graphs, tables, and references are included. They are written by professors, researchers, and scholars.
Popular periodicals cover current topics, written in everyday language, including color images, and rarely cite sources. They are written by journalists.