Primary Sources: Latin American

Part of the World Newspaper Archive, a searchable database of diverse 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America and is divided into Series 1 (1805-1922) and Series 2 (1822-1922) including content from newspapers published throughout South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.

Latin American Women Writers contains full-text prose, poetry and drama by Latin American Women. Authors are from Mexico and South and Central America. Materials are in Spanish and Portuguese as well as French, Italian and English.

Contains the full-text of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.

Collection of newsreels highlighting world cultures and contemporary issues. Some videos contain multiple short vignettes about news around the world and others are longer single topic explorations. Some were also reenactments 1935-1967. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

This collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Films include the Oscar-nominated Twilight Samurai, directed by Yoji Yamada, Oscar-nominated The Scent of Green Papaya, directed by Tran Anh Hung, Oscar-nominated Dogtooth, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, and Cannes Grand Jury Prize winner The Piano Teacher, directed by Michael Haneke. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.

Online collection of streaming videos that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Documentaries topics include, a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Focus is Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.