Primary Sources: Video

A work in progress, this edition of American Film Scripts Online contains more than 1,100 scripts together with detailed information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

A work in progress, this edition of American Film Scripts Online contains more than 1,100 scripts together with detailed information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Historical videos (1894-2015) from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

A collection that explores and provides historical background on select border areas in Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe in text, video, and images.

Films on Demand (FOD) offers curriculum-focused streaming video titles produced by Films for the Humanities and Sciences. NOTE: Small set of hosted videos available until 3/2024

A streaming video platform with films from a variety of collections and producers, including the California Newsreel, Green Planet, PBS, BBC Active, and Stanford Executive Briefings collections. Search titles available for request and for titles currently licensed by the Libraries. Check the library catalog for licensed films' expiration dates.

Collection of newsreels highlighting world cultures and contemporary issues. Some videos contain multiple short vignettes about news around the world and others are longer single topic explorations. Some were also reenactments 1935-1967. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

This collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Films include the Oscar-nominated Twilight Samurai, directed by Yoji Yamada, Oscar-nominated The Scent of Green Papaya, directed by Tran Anh Hung, Oscar-nominated Dogtooth, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, and Cannes Grand Jury Prize winner The Piano Teacher, directed by Michael Haneke. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.

A collection of primary source films with coverage from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. It includes documentary films, features, and newsreels by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe, and more held in the British Film Institute.

Streaming library of over 25,000 feature films, documentaries and foreign films available for request. SWANK videos can be embedded in Canvas and watched on tablets/mobile devices. Licenses for approved requests last one calendar year.

Contains over 660 performances of the world's leading plays and documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays are presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Results can be filtered by subject, publisher, person, content type, language, and release date.

Online collection of streaming videos that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Documentaries topics include, a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Focus is Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.