Primary Sources: Data and Statistics
Basic Historical Statistics
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowCollected from governmental and non-governmental resources. Contains statistics on social, behavioral, economics, government, finance, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, migration, trade and more. Allows for customization of data into tables.
- IMF: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new windowContains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables. Time-series data is available back to 1945 for some countries.
- International Historical Statistics: 1750-2010 This link opens in a new windowInternational historical statistics (1750-2010) is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2010, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source. The above link allows you to browse chapter-level PDFs. Click here to search within the e-book.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowUse Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore the built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesData of interest to the United States, 1878-2012. Also available in print: C 3.134
Summary Data/Statistics
These are websites, electronic resources and databases where you can find local, national or international summary data (statistics) on different subjects.
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention - Data & StatisticsData and statistics collected by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsProvide state, regional and national data on labor forces. Also provide some international data.
- Data.govOnline catalog for public accessible Federal data including statistics and "raw" data.
- SourceOECD: Statistics PortalSearch interface for statistics published by Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD). Some sections on this site might not be accessible to MU users due to subscription.
- UNdataCreated United Nations Statistics Division. A search engine for statistics compiled by United Nations. Provide quick links to different countries' government agencies that collect and disseminate data and statistics.
- The World Bank's Data and ResearchSearch for data and reports published by the World Bank and its different initiatives.
- International Monetary Fund Data and StatisticsSearch data collected by IMF
- International Financial StatisticsCreated by International Monetary Fund (IMF). The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherland Antilles: major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables. Time-series data is available back to 1945 for some countries.
- NationMasterNationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD.
- State and Metropolitan Area Data BookProvide census-like data by state or city.
- Prices and Wages by DecatdeExtensive guide from University of Missouri Libraries.
Public Opinion Polls/Surveys
- Pew Internet & American Life ProjectConduct research on how internet and technology change the American life.
- AfrobarometerA comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets, and civil society in Africa.
- EurobarometerPublic opinion data from European Commission countries.
- European Social Survey (ESS)Public attitudes data collected from European countries.
- Asian BarometerPublic opinion on political values, democracy, and governance on 13 East Asian countries.
- LAPOP & AmericasBarometerLatin American Public Opinion Project
Microdata/Raw Data
- South African Data ArchiveThe South African Data Archive (SADA) serves as a broker between a range of data providers (e.g. statistical agencies, government departments, opinion and market research companies and academic institutions) and the research community.
- IPUMS - InternationalIPUMS-International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project is a collaboration of the Minnesota Population Center, national statistical agencies, and international data archives. The data series includes information on a broad range of population characteristics, including fertility, nuptiality, life-course transitions, migration, labor-force participation, occupational structure, education, ethnicity, and more.
- ICPSR Direct This link opens in a new windowArchive of social science data sets at the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Downloadable files (in SAS, SPSS and Stata ) with code books.