Primary Sources: Nineteenth Century

C19 also includes Archives USA, an index to archival repositories and description of their collections; Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. Wellesley Index To Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900); Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online (1790-1919); British Periodicals Collection I and Collection II (1790-1931); American Periodicals Series (1770-1919). With the exception of journals in the American Periodicals series, C19 does not provide links to full-text articles.

The fifty thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Periodicals include Godey's Lady's Book and the Pennsylvania Gazette. Civil War articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer. African-American papers, including Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star the Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-59), and others.

African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world. Titles in Series 1 come from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, while titles in Series 2 come from the American Antiquarian Society, Center for Research Libraries, the Library of Congress, and New York Public Library.

Aside from a keyword index, other indexes include characteristics of author, personal events, battles and date/day or month.

The database contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with over 17,000 photographs. With thousands of regimental rosters and officer profiles, the database will continue to grow as new information is loaded semiannually.

The Wright bibliography, one of the most comprehensive in existence, contains more than 15,000 titles that comprise some two million pages. For works originating from the period 1911-1920, this collection is based on the Geoffrey D. Smith bibliography and sourced from the William Charvat collection of American Fiction at The Ohio State University, which comprises nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the U.S. These works reveal much about the socioeconomic, political, and religious tenor as America became a distinctly 20th-century nation.

The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

The collection includes the first American magazines, early literary and cultural reviews, the first scholarly journals, and many popular magazines that continue to be published to this day, including Atlantic, Ladies'Home Journal, Vanity Fair, Puck, and Scientific American. This is a work-in-progress and is updated daily. For additional indexing use the 19th Century Index and Index to Early American Periodicals.

ARTstor is a repository of over 2.5 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, and archaeology.

All of this material is available in page image format with fully searchable text. Users can filter results by article type and download articles as either PDFs or JPEG page images. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture.

It includes display and classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary, literary criticism as well as articles.

Some topics can be traced back into the 19th century, although the years since 1990 are covered more fully. There is no full-text in the database.

Some topics can be traced back into the 19th century, although the years since 1990 are covered more fully. There is no full-text in the database.

Provides the full-text of 440 works of 80 U.S. novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850. This database comprises first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors significant during their lifetimes.

Based on the American Bibliography compiled by Charles Evans, with updates and corrections, EAI offers rich indexing (author, title, subject, genre, publishing location, language, more) and easy access to the print culture of Colonial and early republican America. Complemented by the two full-text collections, Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

Sources include the National Archives (US) school lunch program files, WWII Food Campaign files, and Food Ephemera Collection (ephemeral materials from the turn of the century through the 1960s) and many published sources.

Carefully sought out and compiled from 17 different museum, library, and private collections, including those of the American Antiquarian Society and the Chicago Historical Society, these resources are now available to modern scholars in electronic form for the first time here.

Unpublished and published sources of women's diaries and correspondence. They provide a detailed record of what women wore, the conditions under which they worked, what they ate, what they read, and how they amused themselves. Colonial - present.

Full-text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-Present); committee reports (1817-Present); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/U.S. Code (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-2003); Federal Register (1980-); and the Congressional Record, including the Annals of Congress (1789-1997). It also provides information about members and committees.

Brings together the following collections into one searchable database: North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; Black Thought and Culture. Each of these databases has a separate description in this Databases A-Z list.

In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. This interactive website includes the entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.