Primary Sources: Newspapers and Magazines

Newspaper Archives

United States

New York Times Historical (M. U. only)
Full text of the complete run of the New York Times. Coverage: 1851- three years ago.
Early American Newspapers
Full text of more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Chicago Tribune Historical (M. U. only)
Full-text image and indexing of the Chicago Tribune. Coverage: 1849-1985. (See America's Newspapers for 1985-Current.)
Washington Post Historical (M. U. only)
Full-text image and indexing of the Washington Post. Coverage: 1877-1990 (See America's Newspapers or Lexis-Nexis for 1977- current)
Accessible Archives (M. U. only)
Full text of primary historical resources from the 18th and 19th century, including Godey's Lady's Book, the Pennsylvania Gazette, South Carolina Gazette, and a database of 19th century African-American newspapers.

Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-18 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal 1889-18 years ago. Every issue includes the complete paper, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
Alternative Press Index covers theories and practices of: socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gay and lesbian issues. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and begins with 1969.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only.
Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Alternative Press Index covers theories and practices of: socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gay and lesbian issues. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and begins with 1969.
Cincinnati Enquirer Historical (1841-2009) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images for the Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841-2009.
Cincinnati Enquirer (2010-3 months ago) This link opens in a new window
Digital microfilm for 2010 through three months ago.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Contains campaign newspapers for the 1860 Presidential campaign and magazines and newspapers sympathetic to the Confederacy, Union, and Abolitionism. 1860-1865.
Carefully sought out and compiled from 17 different museum, library, and private collections, including those of the American Antiquarian Society and the Chicago Historical Society, these resources are now available to modern scholars in electronic form for the first time here.

African American

African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of local African American newspapers across the United States chronicling life, thought and culture. Miami has Series 1 (1827-1998) and 2 (1835-1956) from selected states.
African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world. Titles in Series 1 come from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, while titles in Series 2 come from the American Antiquarian Society, Center for Research Libraries, the Library of Congress, and New York Public Library.
Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.
Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American from 1893-1988. Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers are cross-searchable with all other ProQuest Historical Newspapers–including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times and The Guardian–allowing researchers to evaluate history from multiple points view from various places throughout the world.
Cleveland Call and Post This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934-1991.
New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
Part of the ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers collection, this database contains full-text articles from the New York Amsterdam News from 1922-1993.
Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers are cross-searchable with all other ProQuest Historical Newspapers–including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times and The Guardian–allowing researchers to evaluate history from multiple points view from various places throughout the world.

British

British Periodicals Collection II This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of selected English literary, theatrical, and creative arts periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture. Late 17th to early 20th centuries.
All of this material is available in page image format with fully searchable text. Users can filter results by article type and download articles as either PDFs or JPEG page images. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture.

Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985. (M. U. only)
Full-text London Times. Coverage: 1785-1985. (See Lexis-Nexis for July 01, 1985 through current.)

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the Sunday edition of the Times, London newspaper. The Sunday Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the daily edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 This link opens in a new window
Offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper, from its first issue to the end of 2010. Every individual article, advertisement, and market listing is included; they can be viewed individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

Russian

Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
A weekly English language publication providing comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments, and cultural events in Russia.
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the "father of Soviet literature," writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. With its focus on literary and intellectual life, Literaturnaia gazeta allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. Literaturnaia gazeta was considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, and it remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia.
Publication of Literaturnaia gazeta was completely suspended in 1942 and 1943, and no issues were produced. In 1944, only 8 issues were published. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years.
Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia and, arguably, the newspaper with the longest democratic history. From a mouthpiece of the Communist party to an influential advocate for social and political change, the pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper's short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). This database offers the most comprehensive collection available for this title, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.
Pravda Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers' newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.
Publication of Pravda was completely suspended in 1915 and 1916, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these years.
Integrum This link opens in a new window
5 simultaneous users; requires username and password. Contact Masha Stepanova at stepanm@miamioh.edu for questions and help navigating these databases. Integrum Profi is a large collection of Russian and CIS databases covering central and regional newspapers and magazines, statistics, official publications, archives of national and international information agencies, full-texts of thousands of literary works with translations, and dictionaries. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Content of most publications starts in the early 1990s. Profi also includes Russian mass-media monitoring in a variety of topics in social sciences, political science, economics, and others. Translation of queries and results is available. Integrum Social Networks is a tool monitoring individuals, companies, organizations, and products in major social networks: Facebook, Twitter, Google+, VKontakte, LiveJournal, Yandex, and Mail.ru.

Latin American

Latin American Newspapers Series 1-2 This link opens in a new window
Part of the World Newspaper Archive, a searchable database of diverse 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America and is divided into Series 1 (1805-1922) and Series 2 (1822-1922) including content from newspapers published throughout South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.

African

Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window
Limited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings, and much more.
African Newspapers Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new window
Collection of 19c and 20c newspapers from many countries in Africa. Most newspapers are in English. Coverage varies by title.

Middle Eastern

Mideastwire This link opens in a new window
5 simultaneous users. A daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.

Newspaper Web Archives

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
U.S. Newspaper Program
Descriptions of newspaper preservation projects in all the states with links to individual state websites.
Google News Archive Search
Searches a number of sources, including historical newspaper archives digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that have been crawled. No longer being updated.
Historical Newspapers and Indexes on the Internet
List by state of historic newspaper projects and archives of specific newspaper titles.
Historical Newspapers Online
List from University of Pennsylvania of some of the historic newspapers that are available online. The site is from the University of Pennsylvania and includes subscriptions. We also subscribe to some of them.

Current Full Text with Some Archive

Ethnic NewsWatch (M. U. only)
English and Spanish full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethinc press. Coverage: Varies by publication. The earliest is 1960.
Factiva (M. U. only)
Full-text business section coverage of all the major US and international newspapers, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and the London Times. Coverage: 1969-
Newspaper Source
Indexing for hundreds of newspapers, often but not always with full text. Coverage (varies by paper): Indexing 1979- ; full-text 1984-

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
7/10/2024. NEXIS UNI.
http://www.nexisuni.com IN A-Z taken out

News Magazines and Other News Sources

FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, transcribed and translated intercepted media (official news services as well as other types) from sources outside the United States.
Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. Key historical events are accessible directly through predefined, hyperlinked collections. From 157 different countries. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. Key historical events are accessible directly through predefined, hyperlinked collections.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of Harpers Weekly, an important 19th century political and social magazine. 1857-1871.
National Review Archive Publications This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Republican/conservative news, commentary, and opinion. 1955-present.
New Republic Archive This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Journals/magazine containing political opinion as well as art and society. Contains articles from many award-winning writers and critics from many fields. Trends progressive. 1914 - .
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
First published in 1902, the Times Literary Supplement offers coverage of significant publications, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviews current, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions. This database of TLS articles from 1902-2007 is a resource for the study of modern literature and culture.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizational bulletins, annual reports, and other genres. Cross-searchable with African American Newspapers (Readex).

Newspaper Indexing Without Full Text

19th Century Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes (no full-text) 19th-century British and American books, periodicals, magazines, newspapers and other official documents.
C19 also includes Archives USA, an index to archival repositories and description of their collections; Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. Wellesley Index To Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900); Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online (1790-1919); British Periodicals Collection I and Collection II (1790-1931); American Periodicals Series (1770-1919). With the exception of journals in the American Periodicals series, C19 does not provide links to full-text articles.

Cincinnati Newspaper Index (NEWSDEX)
Indexes selected articles on local topics from Cincinnati newspapers. Coverage: 19th century-
Cleveland News Index
Indexes local Cleveland, Ohio news stories, feature articles, and reviews primarily from the The Plain Dealer from 1983-1999. Coverage: 1983-

Magazines and Journals

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals chronicling American society, culture and politics, published between 1691-1820 (Series 1 and 2).
The fifty thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window
Limited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings, and much more.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Contains periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizational bulletins, annual reports, and other genres. Cross-searchable with African American Newspapers (Readex).
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
Alternative Press Index covers theories and practices of: socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gay and lesbian issues. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and begins with 1969.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only.
Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Alternative Press Index covers theories and practices of: socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gay and lesbian issues. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and begins with 1969.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full-text of American magazines published from 1741 into the 20th century. Database can be browsed by title, editor, or publisher, and searched using a sophisticated search menu.
The collection includes the first American magazines, early literary and cultural reviews, the first scholarly journals, and many popular magazines that continue to be published to this day, including Atlantic, Ladies'Home Journal, Vanity Fair, Puck, and Scientific American. This is a work-in-progress and is updated daily. For additional indexing use the 19th Century Index and Index to Early American Periodicals.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of Harpers Weekly, an important 19th century political and social magazine. 1857-1871.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Indexes articles in scholarly humanities and social science journals published between 1907-1984.
Combines the indexing of International Index (1907-1965), the Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-74), Humanities Index (1974-84), and Social Sciences Index (1974-84).
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
Contains campaign newspapers for the 1860 Presidential campaign and magazines and newspapers sympathetic to the Confederacy, Union, and Abolitionism. 1860-1865.
Carefully sought out and compiled from 17 different museum, library, and private collections, including those of the American Antiquarian Society and the Chicago Historical Society, these resources are now available to modern scholars in electronic form for the first time here.
Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive (1931-2011) This link opens in a new window
Iskusstvo kino, established in 1931, is the leading journal of Russian, and formerly Soviet, cinema. Iskusstvo kino includes critical reviews of both domestic and foreign film, as well as scholarly articles on cinematic theory and history as well as the Russian culture and arts scene.
It was first published under the title Proletarskoe kino (1931-1932), then Sovetskoe kino (1933-1935), and finally under the present name (since 1936). Publication of Iskusstvo kino was suspended in 1942-1943, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Krokodil Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Krokodil was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union. Founded in 1922, it was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. In 2001-2004 the title Krokodil was changed to Novyi Krokodil, but in 2005 the old title was back. Published continuously until 2008, Krokodil was at one time the most popular newspaper for humorous stories and satire, with a circulation reaching 6.5 million copies.
Krokodil lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events. It ridiculed bureaucracy and excessive centralized control. The caricatures found in Krokodil can be studied as a gauge of the 'correct party line' of the time. During the height of the Cold War, cartoons criticizing Uncle Sam, Pentagon, Western colonialism and German militarism were common in the pages of Krokodil.
Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the "father of Soviet literature," writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage. With its focus on literary and intellectual life, Literaturnaia gazeta allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. Literaturnaia gazeta was considered the most open among newspapers of the Soviet era, and it remains popular among the intelligentsia in today’s Russia.
Publication of Literaturnaia gazeta was completely suspended in 1942 and 1943, and no issues were produced. In 1944, only 8 issues were published. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these challenging years.
National Review Archive Publications This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Republican/conservative news, commentary, and opinion. 1955-present.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text search capabilities for the publications of the Nature Publishing Group ranging from the basic journal Nature to specific titles. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
New Republic Archive This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Journals/magazine containing political opinion as well as art and society. Contains articles from many award-winning writers and critics from many fields. Trends progressive. 1914 - .
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. Collections 1-9.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Index only to popular magazines (primarily United States) in the 20th century. 1890-1982.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
First published in 1902, the Times Literary Supplement offers coverage of significant publications, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviews current, theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions. This database of TLS articles from 1902-2007 is a resource for the study of modern literature and culture.
Universal Database of Social Sciences & Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window
This database includes contents of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities. It is comprised of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles are added on a regular basis. This Universal Database grows retroactively. Full-text and full-image content of print editions is reproduced with original pagination.

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2024 11:55 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/PrimSourceSubj
Print Page

Subjects: American Studies, History