Subject & Course Guides: EDL 771: Educational Policy Analysis: Home

Use Library Databases to Find Policies

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals, and full-text for more than 750 of them. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It also has the full-text for over 100 monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for education research. An index from the US Department of Education that has been around since 1964 ,with some full-text access.
Includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers. There is a free version that anyone can use at eric.ed.gov. Use the library version because you will be able to access the full-text of the articles you find more easily. Currently indexes more than 600 journals.

In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent grey literature such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
7/10/2024. NEXIS UNI.
http://www.nexisuni.com IN A-Z taken out
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
What Works Clearinghouse This link opens in a new window
Collects and summarizes high-quality education research on programs, products, practices, and policies on to answer the question “what works in education?” to improve student outcomes.

Websites

Center on Education Policy
"The Center on Education Policy is a national, independent source for research and information about public education."
Education Commission of the States
"Education Commission of the States serves as a partner to state policymakers by providing personalized support and helping education leaders come together to learn from one another."
National Assessment of Educational Progress
"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas."
National Center for Education Statistics
"Since 1988, NCEE has been researching the world’s best performing education systems to unlock their secrets. We focus on their standards, instructional systems and assessment designs. We look at the way they govern, finance and organize their systems. We use this information to provide groundbreaking designs for high performance education systems at the national, state and local levels."
National Information Center for Higher Education Policymaking and Analysis
"The mission of the National Information Center for Higher Education Policymaking and Analysis is to provide state policymakers and analysts timely and accurate data and information that are useful in making sound higher education policy decisions."
U.S. Department of Education
ED's 4,400 employees and $68 billion budget are dedicated to: Establishing policies on federal financial aid for education, and distributing as well as monitoring those funds; Collecting data on America's schools and disseminating research; Focusing national attention on key educational issues; Prohibiting discrimination and ensuring equal access to education."
U.S. Department of Education: Policy Section
UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Education

Best Bets

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals, and full-text for more than 750 of them. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It also has the full-text for over 100 monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Essential and authoritative database for education research. An index from the US Department of Education that has been around since 1964 ,with some full-text access.
Includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers. There is a free version that anyone can use at eric.ed.gov. Use the library version because you will be able to access the full-text of the articles you find more easily. Currently indexes more than 600 journals.

In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent grey literature such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.

Find Books

Use this search box to find books and ebooks.

Common Keywords

Age ranges: early childhood, middle childhood, adolescent or young adult

Grade levels: preschool, K-3, elementary or primary, middle grade, secondary or high school

Subject areas: English language arts, reading, social studies, science, math

EDL 771: Educational Policy Analysis: Home

Use Library Databases to Find Policies

Websites

Best Bets

Find Books

Journals