Video Content: Find Films

The classic catalog interface searches the materials owned by the Miami University Libraries, including books, DVDs, and other items. Unlike the default catalog interface, the classic catalog provides a "Limit results to" pull-down menu that will enable you to search the Miami library catalog for videos only.

Justwatch.com is one of several commercial websites that provide information regarding the availability of particular titles on various commercial online streaming services. Justwatch is not a library-provided resource, but rather a commercial website that allows you to simultaneously search many commercial sources of video content, and to compare the cost you will have to pay for accessing videos on these platforms.

Kanopy is a streaming video platform with more than 8,000 films including titles from the Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, PBS, the BBC, and a range of independent film and documentary production companies. As of July 1 2019, the University Libraries considers request for Kanopy titles on an item-by-item basis. Because of the costs and limited duration of Kanopy rental agreements, we prioritize content needed by faculty and students for instructional purposes. Because each request must be considered individually, requests may take several working days to process; please plan accordingly.

Alexander Street Video is a platform from which all of our subscribed video collections from Alexander Street Press can be cross-searched simultaneously. This includes access to Academic Video Online and provides access to more than 62,000 titles, spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

The collection includes more than 8,000 cataloged films and video recordings from the early twentieth century through the present day. More than 900 titles date from before 1950. While most of the films are in English, there are important titles in German, Russian, French, and Spanish.

They claim to have the biggest collection of movie scripts available anywhere on the web. Their site lets you read or download movie scripts for free.

Links to hundreds of free, downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of current, classic and maybe a few soon-to-be-released movies, television, anime, unproduced and radio shows. A screenwriter's resource. See below for what is new on the site or click on a script category!