Scholarly Metrics: Metrics for Books

Library Resources

Book Citation Index (2005-present) This link opens in a new window
The Book Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, is multidisciplinary, covering disciplines across the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
As a part of Web of Science Core Collection, Book Citation Index allows users to search seamlessly across books, journals and conference proceedings to find the information most relevant to their work within one platform.
Book Review Index Online This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive index of book reviews, it includes review citations from thousands of publications, including refereed journals, general interest publications, and newspapers. Some full-text availability.
It includes the entire backfile from the original print edition of Book Review Index, which dates back to 1965. Book Review Index Online is searchable by author of book reviewed, title of book reviewed, publication date, reviewer, title of review, review length, journal, refereed publications, and reading level.

Worldcat is a global catalog of library collections. Can be used to count how many copies of your book are owned by libraries.

Google Scholar. Click on the Cited by to identify documents citing the book or chapter..

Google Books includes users ranking and reviews.

Publish or Perish is an open access software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations using Google Scholar data.