Student Affairs in Higher Education: Find Articles
Search Tip
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databases for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all. If not, you can always use the Request It feature to receive a copy via email.
Databases & Indexes
- ERICERIC is the preeminent database in the field of education. It is most effectively searched using its robust thesaurus.
- Education Research CompleteBroad bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research relating to all areas of education.
- PsycINFOPremier database for scholarly literature in the field of Psychology and related social sciences fields.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a database that allows users Google's powerful software platform to search research literature. The index contains books, conference papers and gray literature in addition to articles in academic journals.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe best database for locating articles in the field of Sociology.
- Social Science Citation IndexInterdisciplinary index of periodical literature. The main source for citation information.
- Lexis Nexis NewsThe best source for recent articles in national and international newspapers.
- Gender Studies DatabaseGood source for gender-related literature in both scholarly and popular publications.
What is peer review?
Peer review is the process by which articles are selected for publication in academic/scholarly journals. The articles are evaluated for accuracy, proper research methodology, and the correct interpretation and use of data by other experts in the field. No other publications undergo this level of vetting.
How do I know if something is peer reviewed?
If you are looking for peer reviewed articles, there are a number of ways to locate them. One way is to limit your database searches to only articles in peer reviewed publications. Many databases allow you to do this. For example, most EBSCO Host databases have a box labeled "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" in the limiters section under the main search boxes.
Another way is to use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. This is an authoritative source for information about periodicals. Simply search the title of the journal using a title (keyword) search in the search box ont he top right of the page. If the journal is labeled as refereed: yes (or has a little icon of a referee's jersey in the results list) then it is a peer reviewed publication.