Law & Legal Studies: Government Information
Welcome
This guide will supply sources and techniques for locating government documents. Government documents collections in many ways are as varied as library collections. Documents contain information for just about every discipline, certainly laws and legislation, but also scientific and economic data, cultural studies, history, and more. This guide concentrates mainly on the United States federal government, except for the sections on Ohio government and international government. The indexes below are databases that cover a broad spectrum of documents. The sections at the right provide access to specific sources in that area.
Where is government information located in the MU Libraries?
Print items, microfiche/film, and maps are all formats of government information collected by the Miami University Libraries. Government information in the libraries collections generally consists of books, reports, and other items published by the US Government. These items cover a wide range of topics and consist of information created by almost every branch and agency of the Federal Government. Print items are primarily located in the Government Information & Law collection in King Library on the Oxford Campus of Miami University in the IMC/GIL on the ground floor. Some government documents are currently held in storage at the South West Ohio Regional Depository, and in the Libraries of the Hamilton and Middletown Campuses.
General Indexes
- GovInfo This link opens in a new windowFull-text, free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Particularly useful for federal government agency publications and executive branch publications. Many older documents, but greater coverage for more recent administrations.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowU.S. Congress documents including hearings, legislation, and regulations. Provides bill tracking and legislative histories. ProQuest Congressional offers information and primary-source documents by and about the United States Congress. Indexes some social media from various government bodies. 1789-present.
- A-Z List of Government AgenciesComprehensive list of federal agencies and their websites.
- A-Z title listing of major government publicationsNot comprehensive, but list of many of the commonly asked for government documents
Tutorials about the US Government Structure
- Branches of the US GovernmentDiagram and explanation of the branches of Government
Basic Books about Government and Guide Books
- United States Government Manual (govinfo)Official handbook of the Federal Government,.The United States Government Provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, including includes a list of officials heading major operating units, a summary statement of the agency's purpose and role in the Federal Government, a brief history of the agency, including its legislative or executive authority, a description of its programs and activities, and information about contracts and grants, employment, publications, and other matters of public interest.
Fundamentals of Government Information by Call Number: ZA5055.U6 F67 2016ISBN: 0838913954Publication Date: 2016-06-09Covers: the history of government information, from its beginnings to the present., including public laws and the U.S. Code, Case Law and the judicial branch, and regulations; Congressional literature, from bills and committee hearings; patents; intellectual property; census data; and other statistical resources; agency publications.
