Skip to main content

Computer Science and Software Engineering: Writing and Citing

General Writing Guides

IEEE Writing Resources

Many computer scientists use Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Style in their papers.  Find their style guides and other useful links in the link below to IEEE.

AMS Writing Resources

The American Mathematical Society has developed LaTeX for authors of mathematics articles.  This package includes graphics for symbols for mathematical computation.

Journal Abbreviations

Some citation styles require you to use the journal abbreviation instead of the full title.  Use these websites to help you find the abbreviations.

Need Help? Just Ask!

Access

EndNote Online logo; links to Miami's access to EndNote

(aka Endnote Basic or EndNote Web)

EndNote Online Plug-In

Cite While You Write is a Microsoft Word plug-in that allows you to use your EndNote Online library as you write your paper, inserting citations and creating a bibliography along the way.

To learn more about CWYW, log in to your EndNote Online accountclick on the Options tab and then on Download Installers.

Exporting from Other Databases & Importing References

Exporting from Web of Science databases

  • Web of Science databases offer a direct export option to EndNote Online.

Image of 'Save to EndNote online' button from Web of Science databases

Exporting from other databases

  • Some databases don't offer Direct Export to EndNote Online. 

  • In cases such as this, you will need to export records in a particular format - likely RIS or Refer format - & save the exported file on your computer.

Importing References from other databases into EndNote Online

  1. Under the Collect tab in EndNote Online, click on the Import References link.

  2. Locate the file you exported from the database on your computer.
  3. The Import Option should match the type of file you exported (e.g. RIS or Refer/ReferBibIX format)
    • You can select commonly used formats to add to "My Favorites" so they show up in a short list
  4. Select what folder (if any) you would like the item(s) to be added to & click Import

 

Screen Image of select import styles added to 'My Favorites' list on EndNote Online's 'Import References' page