Black World Studies: Multi-media
Kanopy
Producer & Distributor Sites
- Criterion PicturesLicensing service. Provider of non-theatrical performance rights and 1 year contract to show all films from companies they represent.
- Motion Picture Licensing CorporationLicensing service. Provider of public performance licensing rights for more than 650 producers and distributors.
- Swank Motion PicutresLicensing service. Provider of public performance licensing rights for numerous movie studios.
Library Purchased Films
DVD/VHS/Laserdisc
- Library-owned films on DVD, laserdisc, and VHS DO NOT include public performance rights UNLESS you see a note in the catalog record that states otherwise.
- Showing library-owned films outside of the classroom without public performance rights may be illegal.
- If the library did not purchase public performance rights, it is the responsibility of the individual or organization intending to publicly screen the film to secure public performance rights.
Obtaining Permission to Screen Films on DVD/VHS Publicly
If a copyrighted movie is not licensed for public performance (i.e., it's licensed only for home use), you will need to to obtain permission from the copyright owner. There are 3 ways to do this:
- Contact the copyright holder directly.
- Contact the distributor to see if they have the authority from the copyright holder to grant licenses.
- For major feature films, contact the licensing service representing the particular studio or title. Services vary in the types of licensing offered and the scope of materials represented. Costs are usually related to the film's release date.
For links to producer, distributor, and licensing services, see Producer & Distributor Sites box at left.
Streaming Video
- Alexander Street Press video collections DO include public performance rights as long as no admission fee is charged.
- Kanopy streaming video collections MAY include public performance rights. You must ask Acquisitions about any films in question
- OhioLINK Educational and Instructional video collections DO include public performance rights as long as no admission fee is charged.
Film, Audio, and Music
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowAmerican History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
- American Music This link opens in a new windowAmerican Music (previously called American Song) is an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, cowboys, and ordinary people.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowARTStor is a repository of over 500,000 digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts and design, and archaeology. ARTStor's software tools support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses.
- Database of Recorded American Music This link opens in a new windowOne of DRAM's primary focuses is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. Currently DRAM's collection contains more than 3,000 albums worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 26 independent labels.
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new windowThis database contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of them illustrated—3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865.
- Images of the American Civil War This link opens in a new windowImages of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis.
- Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of jazz recordings covering thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. Includes recordings from over two-dozen record labels.
- New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-present This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens.
