THE 224: Acting for Medical Simulation: Governmental and Academic Information

Governmental

Medline Plus
This site features not only brief articles from such authoritative government and private agencies as the National Institute of Health and the Mayo Clinic, but it also has its own medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia with illustrations, and a gateway to the PubMed database, a free version of Medline that is partially full text.

National Library of Medicine
This site features not only a link to Medline Plus, but also clinical trials, the Medline database, a medical encyclopedia, and a medical dictionary with diagrams. This site is especially useful for anatomy and physiology students.

Health Information from National Institutes of Health

Health information from across the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

NIDDK Health Information

Information for improving health around weight management, diabetes, kidney disease, and digestive diseases.

Minority Population Profiles (Office of Minority Health)

National Healthcare Quality & Disparities - (AHRQ) - Includes Reports, National & State Views and Data Query.

Centers for Disease Control

Non-governmental organizations

Merck Manuals

"First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers."

Resources for LGBTQ+ Patients from the Human Rights Council

Disparities (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation)

Women's Health (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation)

Foundations often have health information for patients and families.

A few examples are:

Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) - health resources for people with Type 1 Diabetes and their families
Sickle Cell Disease Foundation - patient information on sickle cell disease
American Heart Association - tips for healthy living as well as information on heart attack and stroke symptoms
American Cancer Society - information on different types of cancer, plus suggestions for healthy choices to reduce the risk of cancer

American Headache Society

Library Databases

Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full-text for current health pamphlets.
Content includes: nearly 30 active full-text non-open access magazines, 100 full-text reference books, more than 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports, and full-text for current health pamphlets.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

Last Updated: Jun 13, 2024 3:36 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/the224
Print Page