MGT 431- Murfield : Company & Industry Research
Government Resources
- Census- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- SEC EDGARSEC interface that allows people to search through all electronic company filings.
Company Research
Company & Industry Research
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowMarketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
Private Company Research
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook has set the login to an SSO. Instructions for accessing Pitchbook can be found here.
The PitchBook platform provides access to information about private companies, venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions for startups and high growth companies, including pre- and post-money valuations, investment amounts, investment round (seed, series a, etc.), angel group and institutional investor names, and investee information (founder and CEO names, location, age, degrees, etc.). Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business Entrepreneurship Department.
Financials
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowA source for financial data on 15,000 US and 20,000 international publicly held companies. Includes a business description, history, company financials, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock data, as well as historical stock price data. Financial data for the last 15 years is available, as well as the latest 5-10 years of annual reports. Company archives include data on inactive companies back to 1996. Mergent also now has an economic module which contains time series data on 550 U.S. and international economic variables.
Supply Chain
Bloomberg Terminals- These can be found in the on the first floor of the Farmer School of Business in the Trading Center. (FSB 1013)
Supply Chain Research can be done by loading an equity (public company) on the terminal then using the function SPLC.
More in-depth instructions can be found in the google doc linked below. Accessible only to Miami students and faculty using their Miami account.
Company Website
Company websites allow you to glean useful information including; ways they sell their products, what their products are, their mission, etc...
Investor Relations
Public companies tend to have an Investor Relations page.
Simply type in the search bar above.
("your company's name" investor relations)
In these you can find a variety of useful information including, what segments they operate in, where they operate in the world, financial information, etc..
Geographic Data
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Industry Research
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
In these reports a variety of information can be found on industries including basic supply chain information, top competitors, products & markets, external drivers, and industry financials/ratios. - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowOn campus access only. BCC Research provides detailed market research reports in emerging industries including biotech, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and information technology.
To login click on the Member Login button, then the IP Authenticate button.