Media Journalism and Film 105: Home

This guide provides information and links to resources that may be helpful for students enrolled in Media, Journalism and Film 105.

Media and Culture

This guide lists information resources for students enrolled in Media, Journalism & Film (MJF 105) at Miami University.

This homepage of this guide includes links to some key information resources ("best bets") in this area; see the tabs to the left for additional resources of potential value for research on media and society.

Library Catalogs

These tools can be used to locate and access print and ebooks from the Miami Libraries and to request print books from other institutions.

Miami University Libraries Catalog
Start with the "Books & More" tab to find books that you can check out at Miami University.
OhioLINK
If Miami University doesn't own the book you need, you might be able to request it through OhioLINK from a participating library in Ohio.
WorldCat
If you can't find a book you need at Miami University or through OhioLINK, check to see what other libraries might have it.
Interlibrary Loan
You can then order a copy from that library through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

Selected Article Databases for Media Journalism and Film

The databases below are resources for locating academic journal articles relating to the study of media, journalism, and film.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
Furthermore, this database includes full-text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is an index to articles in popular and scholarly journals about film and television. The publications indexed include international film journals, popular and trade journals, and reference books, and subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
For reviews see Academic Search Complete or Readers Guide Retrospective; for scholarly articles see also the MLA International Bibliography.

MLA International Bibliography
An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern literatures starting with 1926. Includes coverage of film and popular culture.

Best Bets: Reference Resouces

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Communication This link opens in a new window
This collection of bibliographies covers topics related to the transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas.
Also, given the changing media landscape, scholars and professionals must constantly consider new content, technologies, processes and effects, and theories of communication. The overlapping domains of communication make it challenging to stay informed about every applicable area. A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. Oxford Bibliographies in Communication will provide much-needed guidance for students and scholars at every level.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias written by world-class experts to provide subject overviews that can be understood in half an hour of reading or less.
Every essay is rigorously peer-reviewed and new topics and essays are added monthly. The OREs were developed with a global community of librarians and university faculty and written for everyone from students just beginning their studies to more advanced researchers needing background on a field of study.

Department of Media, Journalism, and Film

Media and Culture ia major in the Department of Media, Journalism, and Film, along with Film Studies, Journalism, and Strategic Communications.

Looking for guides for other programs in this department?

Your Librarian

Mark Dahlquist

Email Me

Contact:

205 King Library

513-529-8494

Subjects: English, Media, Journalism, and Film, Strategic Communication

Last Updated: Oct 25, 2023 11:47 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/c.php?g=1342409
Print Page