History: Asian: Primary Sources: East Asia
China
- Chinese Propaganda PostersChinese propaganda posters, with information about their history, background and design.
- Chinese Communism ArchiveDocuments | Periodicals | Music | Image Gallery
- China's Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976Wilson Center. Collection of documents.
- Chinese Cultural Revolution PostersUC San Diego. Posters
- Chinese Digital Archive 1966-1976Documents. In Chinese
- Red-Color News Soldier"A range of techniques and perspectives are used in the Morning Sun website to reflect on the origins and history of the Cultural Revolution (c.1964-1976)" Mostly images.
- China Collection"Collection of over seventy National Intelligence Estimates on China." From the CIA
- Down to the Countryside Movement"Collection of memoirs, photographs, correspondence, and other primary sources from China’s former Rusticated Youth."
- Marxist ArchiveBibliography with full text public domain documents from marxist writers.
- China's Cultural Revolution, 1966-1969 : Not a Dinner PartyCollection of documents
- 19th and 20th Century Parliamentary Papers (1801-2004) This link opens in a new windowFull-text of Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials related to Great Britain's governance.
- Declassified Documents Reference System This link opens in a new windowFull-text of previously classified federal records from presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies, including the Department of Defense, CIA, FBI and others. Collection spans the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
- FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowFull-text, transcribed and translated intercepted media (official news services as well as other types) from sources outside the United States.
- Wang Jingwei and Lin Baisheng Photograph collection1940-1945. "Collection of photographs that had once belonged to Lin Baisheng―a prominent newspaper editor in Republican China who served as the Minister of Publicity."
- Peking Review1958-2006
Japan
- Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR)Asian historical records, that are historical documents of Japan concerning to the modern Japanese relations with other countries, particularly those in Asia.
- Japanese War CrimesSelected documents from the National Archives
- International Military Tribunal for the Far East (IMTFE)Informally known as the Tokyo War Crimes trial, lasted two and a half years, from April 29, 1946 to November 12, 1948.
- Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records. JapanSee also the guide: Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records. Japan / edited by Paul Kesaris ; guide, compiled by Robert Lester
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
- Modern Japan in ArchivesNavigate by chapter. Documents in Japanese, but also has lots of maps that are useful.
- Hiroshima Archivedigital archive using the digital earth to display on it in a multilayered way all the materials gained from such sources as the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum, the Hiroshima Jogakuin Gaines Association, and the Hachioji Hibakusha (A-bomb Survivors) Association.
- Memories of Hiroshima and NagasakiFirst-hand accounts written by hibakusha
- Decision to Drop the BombU.S documents (letters, memos, notes, etc) from the Truman Library
- 19th and 20th Century Parliamentary Papers (1801-2004) This link opens in a new windowFull-text of Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials related to Great Britain's governance.
- FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowFull-text, transcribed and translated intercepted media (official news services as well as other types) from sources outside the United States.
- Japanese Historical Text InitiativeDescription of different projects that are included: https://jhti.berkeley.edu/about%20JHTI.html
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowDeclassified documents covering U.S. policy decisions from 1945 to present.
- Bibliography of the East India Company : books, pamphlets and other materials printed between 1600 and 1785Bibliography of.materials published/created by the East India Company, which began as a company to trade in the East Indies and East Asia, but later modly with India.
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a repository of over 2.5 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, and archaeology.
- Photos During the Allied Occupation of JapanEmery D. Middleton Collection consists of over 600 of his black & white photos, along with several historical postcards and documents he collected.
- Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period7,600 photographs taken in various parts of Japan during the Bakumatsu-Meiji Period (19c).
- The East Asia Image Collection (EAIC)Digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of colonial Taiwan (1900-45) and occupied Japan (1947-52).
- Mainichi Photo Bank 毎日フォトバンクPhotographs from the end of the Tokugawa Period. Search in Japanese.
- National Diet of JapanCollection of online exhibits.
- International Research Services for Japanese StudiesUse Google to explore in English. Photos and other digital collections
- Japan ArchivesTranslate page into English. Images 1860s to the present.
- Magic Lantern Slides CollectionIn 1930s, KBS (1936-1972) actively created lantern slides and distributed them to institutions around the world to help educate about Japan.
- AGSL DIGITAL PHOTO ARCHIVE: ASIA AND MIDDLE EASTImages from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library
Maps
- Holding Map DatabaseEarly-modern city maps and images of map materials
- Japanese Historical MapsFrom David Rumsey collection.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of the daily edition of the Times, London newspaper. The daily edition of the Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the Sunday edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
- Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new windowFull-text page and article images of the Sunday edition of the Times, London newspaper. The Sunday Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the daily edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
- Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection (Hoover Institution)Online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America. Dates vary by paper
- Press Translations, Japan, 1945-1946English summaries or full translations of newspaper articles and editorials from November 1945 to June 1946.