CMR 361: Marketing for the Small Business (Curtis): Databases
Databases
Consumer Data
- MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register:
Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage. - SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Market, Industry & Company Data
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowA resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
- Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text articles from 14 sports-business publications, as well as 2,500 + tables covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities. Also features a directory information for amateur and professional sporting organizations, venues, trade associations, etc.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowMarketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
Database Video tutorials
- Database videosShort videos demonstrating how to use the library databases.
Articles & More - reaching a wider variety of publications
- Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
- Use limiters to narrow your results - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use the "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA or MLA citation.
- To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record (not the browser URL).
Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3:00 min., 2018) or Focusing Your Search in Articles & More (Burke, 2:17 min., 2020)
Marketing Research Guide
The Marketing Research Guide, developed by business subject specialist librarian Abigail Morgan, provides access to many other marketing and general business resources. Consult the guide for lists of databases and guidance on using them to find the marketing information you need.