ENG 313 (Listhartke): All Marketing Databases
Marketing databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete indexes thousands of popular and scholarly business journals, many of which are available in full-text, including Harvard Business Review. This also indexes the Wall Street Journal.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowThis database provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. Information includes regional and country profiles, information on physical and social geography, history, economy, and country & comparative statistics.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva includes full-text coverage of all the major US and international newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, London Times, etc.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior is an excellent international business resource, covering culture, customs, business etiquette, history, and language worldwide. It consists of 175 Country Guides of 119 topics each.
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowOneSource is a comprehensive business database, providing US and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analysts reports.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIbisworld is a source for in-depth full-text US industry research reports. Includes all aspects of the US economy including manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, and service sectors.
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowMarketline is an excellent source for US and international market research industry reports, company reports for large publicly traded companies, and in-depth PESTLE Country reports.
- MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new windowMediamark is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. It also is a source of market share data. For instructions on logging in and using this product, see the Mediamark Handout
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowMintel has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Mintel also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.).
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowLexis-Nexis Business includes full-text of selected business newspapers, magazines, journals, wires, and transcripts from around the world, as well as company information. This is also good for creating lists of companies and executives.
- RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new windowFull-text market Research handbooks covering Business-to-Business Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Consumer Marketing, Consumer Use Of The Internet & Mobile Web, Entertainment, Media & Advertising, Healthcare, International Consumer Markets, Leisure Business, Restaurant, Food & Beverage, Retail Business, Sports Marketing, and Travel & Tourism.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowSimplyAnalytics is a statistical mapping application that enables users to create interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
- Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new windowSports Business Research Network includes data covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities.
- SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new windowThis database has advertising rate information for US and international newspapers and magazines, as well as contact information for out-of-home advertising and online advertising providers. There is NO information for TV or Radio commercial costs though.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowGreat source for Marketing statistics - use the limiters on the left side to limit by country or type of data. Download as a PowerPoint, PDF, etc.
Search Tip: Use the Right Resource
Mintel is a great source for consumer market research, particulalry for technology products, food and beverages, and multicultural consumers.
The GMID database is an excellent source for in-depth market research reports and statistics for the US and internationally.
Marketline Industry Reports cover more industries but fewer countries and are less in-depth. Marketline Company reports include SWOT analyses and revenue analysis.
Ibisworld Industry reports are in-depth reports for all aspects of US business.
Mediamark is a rich source of consumer data and demographics but is only available for the US. We do not have a source for Mediamark type data outside of the US.
SRDS Media Solutions database includes contact information for placing ads as well as advertising costs for consumer or trade print publications.
Hoover's is a great source for company information, including financial data and SWOTs. It is also easy to link to 10K reports through Hoover's.
Use Business Source Complete to find full-text articles from trade journals or scholarly sources on almost any type of business question or topic.
