Acquisitions: eBooks - GOBI

APA 

Years included 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020

Unlimited users

Perpetual access

Excluded:APA Books E-Collections do not include APA Style® products, Magination Press® children's titles, APA LifeTools® trade book titles, APA Handbooks in Psychology®, textbooks, encyclopedias, or other reference publications.

Cambridge EBA Program

EBA extends from 2020-2025

Unlimited users

Perpetual access (but only for titles purchased at the end of each fiscal year.  During the term of the agreement, users will have access to a pool thousands of e-books published from 2015 forward at the publisher's website.)

Note: This evidence-based acquisition (EBA) program gives library users immediate access to a mass of content and then allows the selection committee to purchase access to a subset of that content in perpetuity. A selection committee comprised of members from OhioLINK’s Cooperative Information Resources Management Policy Team (CIRM) was formed to make purchase decisions. The selection team members will evaluate titles on a yearly basis and will choose approximately 350 titles each year for purchase. Once purchased, all OhioLINK member institutions will have permanent access to the titles.

MIT Press (GEER)

New purchase with one-time GEER funding in 2021.  Includes backlist.

License extends through 2021

Unlimited users

Perpetual access

Note: The vast majority of MIT Press titles are included in the package on the Direct platform.  However, for various reasons, there will be some exceptions. The most common examples are textbooks and books for which MIT Press does not have electronic rights.

Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) 

Includes the front list for all subjects, but Palliative care

License extends through 2023

Unlimited users

Perpetual access

Routledge Handbooks from Taylor & Francis

Approximately 2700 e-books to support a broad curriculum: humanities, social sciences, science & technology, and more.

Unlimited users

Perpetual access

Safari

Licensed through 2023

No current user limit

Titles move in and out of this collection frequently

Sage Business Cases (GEER)

Content through 2020 is included

Licensed through 2021

Unlimited users

Perpetual access

Springer

For 2018-2023 all E-book subjects are included 

Unlimited users

Perpetual access

Springer Protocols

Licensed through 2019
Unlimited users
Perpetual access

University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO)

Licensed through 2023, Cancelled moving forward

Presses included:

2015/2016=California, Chicago, MIT, and Yale University Presses

2017=California, Chicago, MIT, Yale University Presses, and NYU

2018=California, Chicago, MIT, Yale University Presses, NYU, and Princeton UP

2019=Chicago, and Yale University Presses, NYU, Princeton UP

2020=Chicago, and Yale University Presses, NYU, Princeton UP

2021=Chicago, and Yale University Presses, NYU, Princeton UP

2022=Chicago, and Yale University Presses, NYU, Princeton UP

2023=Chicago, De Gruyter, Yale University Presses, NYU, Princeton UP

Unlimited Users

Perpetual access
Wiley 

Licensed through 2023, all E-books from 2012-current 

(Exception: anything categorized as a reference work)

Unlimited Users

Perpetual access

E-books can be purchased via Gobi from the following platforms:

Cambridge University Press: DRM-free (Adobe PDF); unlimited users

CRC Press: DRM-free (Adobe PDF); unlimited users

Credo: DRM-free (HTML, Adobe PDF); single or unlimited users

de Gruyter: DRM-free (ePub, Adobe PDF); unlimited users

EBSCOhost: 1 user, 3 user, or Unlimited user

E-Book Central (formerly ebrary): Single user or Multiple user

Elsevier ScienceDirect: DRM-free (HTML, Adobe PDF); unlimited users

Gale GVRL: DRM-free (HTML, Adobe PDF); unlimited users

IGI Global: DRM-free (HTML, Adobe PDF); unlimited users

JSTOR: DRM-free (Adobe PDF); unlimited users

Project Muse: DRM-free (Adobe PDF); unlimited users

Routledge (Taylor & Francis): DRM-free (Adobe PDF); unlimited users

Sage Knowledge: DRM-free (HTML, Adobe PDF); unlimited users

Wiley Online Library: DRM-free (Adobe PDF); unlimited users

World Scientific Pub Co.: DRM-free (Adobe PDF); unlimited users

GOBI E-Book Purchase Option Definitions (YBP)

View DDA e-book profile

See list in box on left for available e-book platforms that may be purchased from YBP via Gobi.  We are not set up to purchase EBL at this time.

• Select the e-book listing in GOBI per the regular process.   
• If you are working from a GOBI-generated list of slips (print formats) that resulted from the profile, and you want to find out if a title is available in e-form, look for an alternate editions link in the bibliographic listing, and click on that it. This will retrieve any other editions available. Sometimes only hardback and paperback; sometimes hardback, paperback, and electronic.
  • If you decide to stay with the format you were already looking at, or there is no electronic, select go back at the bottom of the actions listing on the left. This prevents you from losing any work you've already done on the list.
• Cost Information
  • The discount on print books from YBP does not apply to e-books. Note that JSTOR e-books are discounted because we are JSTOR charter members; this discount is already reflected in the price you see in Gobi.
  • Catalog records for each e-book ordered are purchased from YBP for $2.20 per title.
• E-books ordered via YBP generally become available and are cataloged within 3 business days of the order; some exceptions may occur. If you need the e-book URL before the record becomes available in the catalog, please contact Cara Calabrese.
• We generally don't duplicate titles across formats, unless a librarian asks us to for a specific course or faculty member.  
• If you select a title in e-format, and Acquisitions discovers that we already have it in print, staff will not order the e-format.
• We are not purchasing publishers that we purchase through OhioLINK (All Springer & Wiley Ebooks, Some Oxford University Press (OUP) and Some University Press title available through OUP).
• To help avoid duplication, we have recently loaded our monographic holdings purchased outside of YBP into Gobi.
• Check the "Purchase Option" column when choosing a platform. 1 user or 3 user options are less useful if an e-book will be used for course readings. Look for unlimited user access.
• We have contracts on file for the platforms in the box on the left. The "Library Availability" column under each book in Gobi will indicate this with the note "Contract on file".

Note: e-book holdings are currently not being set in OCLC WorldCat and are not being contributed to the OhioLINK Central Catalog.

Miami has an eBook DDA profile with YBP, which results in bibliographic record titles being sent to ebrary for addition to our catalog on a DDA basis.  We do not purchase these titles in print format, if possible. The EBSCO DDA via YBP has been suspended (February 2017) due to systematic downloading.

Display in GOBI (unpurchased DDA)

If a title has coded for the DDA profile, you will see one of two messages on the bibliographic record for the print format in GOBI:

1. In the brief record format, it is a link at the bottom center left, beside the library history link.
2. In the full record format (shown above), it is a link on the top right, just below the library history link.

The message will say:

alt-ed [vendor] probable auto DDA (date)

OR

alt-ed [vendor] auto DDA record sent (date)

The 1st means that the record is being reviewed for inclusion in the DDA listings.

The 2nd means that it has been sent to ebrary, and Cataloging will load it into the catalog in the near future.

If you are in the eBook record, there will be no reference to alt-ed.

Display in GOBI (purchased DDA)

If a title in the DDA pool has been triggered/purchased, you will see the note:

shipped to library (date)

1. In the brief record format (shown above), it is a link at the bottom left.
2. In the full record format, it is a link on the top right.

Notes

If a title is sent to EBook Central for DDA after you have selected the book for purchase, the Order Team will not purchase the book. If it goes to DDA after we have purchased the print copy, we will try to catch it in the cataloging process. While YBP does cross-check and block DDA if we purchase in print before the e-book becomes available, we don’t buy everything through YBP, so a few duplicates will slip through.