CRE 151: Introduction to Critical Race and Ethnic Studies (Androne): Finding Articles
Scholarly and Literary Databases
Use the following databases to find information about the topics you are studying in scholarly, peer-reviewed publications. If you aren't sure how to phrase your topic for searching, use our Pre-Search service to get suggestions on words to use and places to search.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowCovers non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. full-texts of books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window5 simultaneous users. Contains a comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes articles from Oxford's reference works, primary sources with specially written commentaries, images, maps, charts and tables, timelines, and biographies.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn index focused on content relating specifically to the relationship between races, specifically the social, political, and economic relations between races and ethnicities. Subjects covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Limited full-text.
Articles & More - reaching a wider variety of publications
- Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
- Use limiters to narrow your results - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use the "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA or MLA citation.
- To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record (not the browser URL).
Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3:00 min., 2018) or Focusing Your Search in Articles & More (Burke, 2:17 min., 2020)
Google Scholar: an alternative for finding articles
- Google ScholarAcademic research articles and books, found through Google. Some will be freely accessible, and some will require a subscription.
Getting Started: ask me for ideas!
If you aren't sure how to phrase your topic for searching, use our Pre-Search service to get suggestions on words to use and places to search.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.